August 17, 2016

Tracfone iPhone 5S Now Available at Target

Apple iPhone 5S for Tracfone Available from Target

Below we share details on  the Tracfone Apple iPhone 5S. TracfoneReviewer is a blog dedicated to sharing news, info and reviews about Tracfone Wireless and we hope the information here is useful for you! 

The Apple iPhone 5S is now available for Tracfone at Target retail stores and online.

Tracfone iPhone
Apple iPhone 5S for Tracfone
We've known about Apple iPhones coming to Tracfone for several months now, but the 5S at Target is the first sighting of what will likely be a full lineup of Apple devices available to Tracfone users.

The iPhone 5S features 16 GB memory, a stunning 8 MP camera and a somewhat small 4" touchscreen. You also get access to the Apple App Store and iOS, the Apple operating system.

Many Tracfone users know that Apple phones have been available to use on Tracfone's prepaid network for more than a year, but only through the BYOP program, where there's no guarantee of compatibility. So this is a deal for those who want an iPhone through Tracfone.

What might be more surprising than the iPhone 5S coming to Tracfone is the price. Target has the Tracfone iPhone 5S for just $199, which is a very reasonable price for this phone.

Below we are going to share some of the features and specs for the iPhone 5S followed by where to you can buy the phone. We'll be working on a full review of the Tracfone iPhone 5S soon.

Tracfone iPhone 5S Features and Specs

What you get with the Tracfone 5S:
  • Apple iOS with access to the Apple App Store
  • 4G LTE using CDMA service (Verizon cell towers)
  • Micro USB Charger included
  • Headphones included
  • 16 GB Internal Memory
  • 1 GB RAM
  • Dual Core 1.3 Ghz processor
  • 4" Touchscreen (640x1136)
  • 8 MP Camera with 1080p HD video recording and front facing camera
  • Talk time 10 hrs, Standby 240 hrs
  • First Released Sept 2013
Apple devices have always been a bit weak when it comes to specs, but performance-wise they hold up just fine. Some of the highlights for this phone include the 16 GB internal memory for storing apps, photos and other things, and the 8 MP rear camera which can record great images or HD video.

The camera on iPhone's have long been a selling point, and even though the iPhone 5S is a few years old, the camera is still well beyond most other devices available from Tracfone.

For more detailed specs, visit GSMArena

Where to Buy the Tracfone iPhone 5S

Tracfone apple iphone 5s
Apple iPhone 5S at Target
As we've already mentioned, the iPhone 5S is currently available at Target retail stores. We've found it in stock at 1 out of 3 local Targets, so it might not be available in every one.

You can also find the Tracfone iPhone 5S on the Target Website. We will update if it becomes available elsewhere.

This phone is retailing for just $199, which actually a great value for the device as it is hard to find an unlocked iPhone 5S for under $200. Many unlocked iPhone 5S devices are going for closer to $300.

We are looking forward to gathering more information about this iPhone and the availability. Please leave a comment with your thoughts, opinions or questions!

Keep up with the latest news and articles by following us on Facebook. It's a great place to interact with our more than 2000 other followers, and get your questions answered.

We recently updated our Comparison of Tracfone Smartphone Cards vs Regular Airtime Cards and found some interesting results. Go take a look if you want to discover what phone card is the best deal, and which is right for you.

Also check out our newest list of Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales! 

Thanks for visiting!

August 10, 2016

4 Ways to Check your Airtime Balance on Tracfone Smartphones

How to Check Your Minutes Balance on Tracfone Smartphones

Below we share how you can check your airtime on Tracfone smartphones. If you're new to Tracfone, consider taking a look at our Beginners Guide to Tracfone (opens in new window).

check tracfone balance
Check Airtime Balance on Tracfone Smartphone
On older, non Android phones, airtime and service days are displayed on the home screen and via the prepaid menu for easy monitoring.

But on Android Smartphones, there is no automatic menu or display for your airtime. So how can you check your balance? We will answer that here, with several different ways!

Tracfone is a prepaid cell phone service provider that also sells phones to use with their service. They have a wide variety of phones, from flip phones to touchscreen smartphones. Visit our Cell Phone Reviews page to see the options including some of the latest Android devices.

On Android smartphones, minutes are not treated the same as on feature phones, they are split into three buckets for texts/talk/data.

It is always important to keep track of your airtime and service days with Tracfone because if you run out of minutes or service days, you can't make any calls. Now with your texts, talk and data split into different buckets for Android phones, it is even more important to keep track of how many of each you have remaining. Take a look at our explanation of How Minutes Work on Android Phones for more information.

We've also Compared the New Smartphone-only cards to the Regular Airtime Cards to determine which card is the best deal.

Well, if you're having trouble checking your airtime on a Tracfone smartphone, we've got an easy solution for you, actually we have four different solutions!

4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Balance on Smartphones

Because it is so important to manage your airtime with Tracfone, we've included four different ways to check your balance! Not all of these methods will work for everyone, but hopefully you can find a convenient way to check your balance.

1. Use the Tracfone My Account App

check airtime on tracfone android
Tracfone Airtime Widget on Android
The Tracfone App (follow the link to it on Google Play) is a helpful app you can download on your Android phone and use to check your balance.

Once you download the app you can enter your details and keep up with your remaining minutes.

You can even add a widget to your home-screen that will display your airtime, much like on older feature phones!

Step by Step Guide for Getting the Tracfone My Account App:

Step 1 -  Go to the Google Play Store on your phone (you should have an app on your homescreen that takes you there) and search for 'Tracfone My Account'. Select the app and choose 'Install'

Step 2 - Once the app is installed, launch it and enter your Tracfone account login details. If you don't already have a Tracfone account, simply go to the Tracfone website and create one.

Step 3 - Use the app to check your remaining balance. At this point you can also install a widget on your homescreen so you can always view your balance. To do this, select the option on your phone to view all apps, and then look for a list of widgets, and select the Tracfone My Account widget.

If you don't have the space for this app on your phone, or want to check your balance online, you can use any of the following methods.

2. View Your Airtime on the Tracfone Website

You can always go to the Tracfone website, whether from your phone or on a computer, and log in and view your account details. From there you can check your airtime balance and it should show your remaining minutes, and/or send you a free text with this information.

Speaking of texts, you can now buy extra text messages for your phone. Read our analysis of the new Text Message card and more!

3. Use the Following URL to Check your Airtime Balance:

Some readers shared this easy trick for checking your airtime balance. It appears to sometimes redirect users to log into their Tracfone account, but it is a convenient method if it works.

You can enter the following URL to check your balance:
"https://www.tracfone.com/direct/CheckBalance?input_phone=1234567890" (replace 1234567890 with your phone number, and don't include the "" quotation marks). You should get a text with your balance.

And finally, some users are reporting the easiest way to check your balance, but it doesn't work for everyone.

4. Call *777*1# from your Smartphone to Check your Balance

Check Tracfone Balance
Check your Tracfone Balance from your Phone!
This is by far the fastest and easiest way to check your airtime on a Tracfone Smartphone or BYOP device. However, it only works for some devices. A number of readers have reported they are unable to use this, so if you try it and it doesn't work, use one of the other methods above.

All you do is call *777*1# and you should get a pop-up within a few seconds that shows your talk, text and data. If you get something else, or an error, then it doesn't work on your phone.

Bonus! Enter your Phone Number on this Page to See Your Airtime Balance:

Visit http://www.fastactportal.com/static/balance and enter your phone number to retrieve your balance.

This appears to work for both smartphones and non-smartphones, and will display your service days as well. You can bookmark that site on your phone or computer, and check it at your convenience.

Tracking your airtime is important, so that you don't run out at an inconvenient time when you really need the phone. You can make your life a little easier by looking into the Tracfone Family Value Plan, Tracfone Service Protection, Auto-Refill, or other monthly plans.

Tracfone has expanded their options for monthly and automatic renewal plans, and they can be a good fit for many. You can sign up on the Tracfone website, and cancel at any time.

If you're shopping for a smartphone, be sure to check out our Android Tracfone List, which includes all the current smartphones available from Tracfone. And see our post on the Major Differences between Android and Non-Android phones from Tracfone.

Keep up with the latest Tracfone news, info, deals and tips by joining over 2000 others who Follow us on Facebook! It is also a great place to ask questions!

You can also Bring Your Own Phone to Tracfone, including devices like the Moto G, iPhone 6 and Samsung Galaxy S7.

See our Latest list of Deals and Discounts on Tracfone cell phones, but be careful, you might find a deal too good to pass up!

Thanks for visiting and leave a comment if you have thoughts or questions to share.

Originally published on 2/272015 and updated on 8/10/2016.

August 9, 2016

Tracfone Deals and Sales - August 2016

List of Deals and Discounts on Tracfone Smartphones

Below are a list of various phones for Tracfone and where to get them for the best price. TracfoneReviewer strives to provide readers with the best information to help them save money. Take a look around our blog if you're new to see some of the other Tracfone related content we offer.

sale tracfone
Tracfone Deal and Discounts for August 2016
Tracfone releases new phones on a regular basis, but these phones are released through a wide variety of retail channels including stores, online shopping networks, and the Tracfone website. It can be hard to track down where the best deals are for Tracfone devices.

But we keep up with where phones are being offered, and where to find the best prices and are sharing our best deals here. These deals don't always last long, so be sure to move quickly if it is a phone you really want.

We are including in this list of deals and sales some Tracfone smartphones, a non-smartphone device for Tracfone, as well as several unlocked smartphones that can be used with Tracfone BYOP.

Our goal is to share some of the best deals we have found on phones to use with Tracfone, to give our readers more options when buying a device. Be sure to leave a comment if you find a better deal somehwere that we missed.

All of the phones listed below we recommend because we think they are a good value for the money. But everyone needs to consider what they want out of a phone before finding which will suit their needs best.

If you need more help looking for a new phone, visit our list of Cell Phone Reviews.

Tracfone Deals and Discounts on Smartphones for August 2016

Some of these deals include just the phone, or the phone and airtime.

LG 306G and LG 441G (non-smartphones)

We are going to start this list off with two non-smartphone options for those who might need to upgrade from a 2G device, but are not ready for a smartphone.

The LG 306G (click for our review) is a small, touchscreen phone that does calling and texting, and has the capability for java based apps. But you cannot use typical apps from Android because this phone doesn't use the Android OS.

It comes with a 3.2" touchscreen, 3 MP front facing camera, and uses GSM networks. This is a basic device, but at only $6.99 on Amazon with Triple Minutes for Life, it is a very good deal for those who don't want to make the move to smartphones.

Another non-smartphone option is the LG 441G flip phone. This is also a very basic phone, but does calling a texting as you would expect from a flip phone.

The LG 441G is available from QVC for $20 and includes a 60 minute airtime card worth $20, making the phone essentially free (just remember shipping and handling costs).

One of the major benefits of non-smartphone devices from Tracfone is that you can still use Tracfone Promo Codes with them and get extra airtime for free each time you add minutes to your phone.

Now, let's get to the great deals on Tracfone Smartphones.

LG Rebel L44VL

We recently reviewed the LG Rebel and it is a basic but good smartphone with Android 5.1, 4.5" touchscreen, 5 MP camera and 8 GB Memory. It is a phone that is best for low to moderate smartphone users. If you tend to use a lot of different apps, you may want a more powerful phone. The Rebel is a good option for first time smartphone users, or even as a backup device. It runs on CDMA networks.

You can get the LG Rebel with 1200 minutes from QVC for $84 (at this time). The airtime alone is worth about $100, making this a great deal.

If you don't need the minutes, you can also get the Rebel from eBay for $50.

LG Stylo 2 L81 AL

We also recently reviewed the LG Stylo 2 and it comes with an impressive 5.7" touchscreen. You also get 8 MP camera, Android 5.1, and 8 GB internal memory. The key feature for the Stylo 2 is obviously the large screen which makes reading, watching videos or even texting much easier.

The rest of the specs for the Stylo 2 are very adequate, but for people who like to use their smartphone a lot, and run multiple apps at once, you may want to look for a phone with both more internal memory (for storing apps) and more RAM (for running multiple apps at once).

Get the LG Stylo 2 from HSN for $180 which includes 1200 minutes (worth $100).

LG Lucky L16C

The LG Lucky is a very basic smartphone running Android 4.4, with a 3.8" touchscreen and 4 GB internal memory. We would only recommend it to people who don't plan to use their phone for very much beyond email, facebook, or browsing the web.

But you can get the LG Lucky for just $10 on Amazon, making it a great value for the money. Some of the optinos for this phone include a dedicated MP3 or podcast player, back up phone, or smartphone for kids. The main limitations for this phone is the low internal memory and low RAM.

Take a look at our review of the LG Lucky to learn more.


Deals on Unlocked Smartphones for Tracfone BYOP

Next we want to share a few smartphones that could be used with Tracfone BYOP. These are unlocked devices, and should work with BYOP, but they are not guaranteed to work, so proceed with that in mind.

Making sure that the device is unlocked, and uses the correct network for your area are good steps to increase the likelihood that the phone can be activated with Tracfone BYOP, but we've still heard from a small percentage of people about issues with activating devices on BYOP.

There are two major benefits to activating your own device with Tracfone BYOP - selection and price. You can choose your smartphone from a much wider selection, and these phones, especially refurbished or used models, can be purchased at significant discounts. Tracfone has very limited options when it comes to internal memory, but when you bring your own device, you can get a phone with as much memory as you need.

BLU RI HD (GSM Compatible for Tracfone BYOP)

Tracfone blu smartphone
BLU R1 HD unlocked
The R1 is a budget BYOP option that comes with two main features many Tracfone users may want - 16 GB internal memory and 2 GB RAM. You also get Android 6.0, a 5" touchscreen and an 8 MP camera.

How much does a phone like this cost? Well that's the best part, the regular version, with 16 GB memory, is available on Amazon for $109. If you're a prime member, you can get a $50 gift card with certain restrictions.

When we first started hearing about the BLU line of smartphones and how cheap they are, we were skeptical, but several readers have reported good experiences activating BLU devices with Tracfone.

Moto G 4th Gen (Unlocked for either GSM or CDMA with Tracfone BYOP)

tracfone discount phones
Unlocked Moto G 4th Gen
The Moto G line of phones is well known for delivering great value at a reasonable price and the newest generation, the Moto G 4th gen, is no exception. It comes with 16 GB memory (or 32GB), 2 GB RAM, an Octa-core processor, 5.5" touchscreen and 13 MP camera.

You can get the Moto G on Amazon for $199, or even less with certain offers.

One of the big features of the Moto G line is exceptional, all-day battery life. The newest model takes it one step further with turbo charging, giving up to 6 hours battery life off of a 15 minute charge. If you're tired of your phone running out of battery halfway through the day, consider the Moto G.

Samsung Galaxy S5 (Unlocked, GSM and CDMA versions available to use with Tracfone BYOP)

The Galaxy S5 was the flagship phone for Samsung in 2014 and it had some of the most advanced features at the time. Two years later it is still a powerful phone, but you can get it for much less than before.

Featuring a 5.1" touchscreen, 16 GB internal memory and 16 MP camera, the Galaxy S5 has outstanding features even though it is two years old. It is also dust and water resistant, which is always good in case of an accident.

Tracfone actually offers the Samsung Galaxy S5, Samsung Galaxy S6 and S7 for sale, but they range in price from $500 to just over $600 and not everyone wants to spend that much on a phone.

You can find an unlocked Samsung Galaxy S5 on eBay for around $200, and under $200 if you're willing to buy a refurbished model. Always be sure to read any fine print about the condition of the phone, and make sure it has a clean ESN and is compatible with whichever network you plan to use.

That concludes our list of great deals, discounts and sales on Tracfone smartphones and unlocked devices. Please leave a comment below with your thoughts or questions. And also let us know if you find any exceptional deals out there.

You can also get answers to your questions, or just stay current on the latest Tracfone news and information by Following us on Facebook where we have more than 2000 other Tracfone users.

We updated our article on New Tracfone Smartphone-Only Airtime Cards and included some airtime comparison tables that are very helpful in learning which card is the best deal for you to buy. Take a look if you want to learn more.

Thanks for visiting!

August 2, 2016

Tracfone Promo Codes for August 2016

List of Tracfone Promo Codes - August 2016

Below we share the latest promo codes to use with Tracfone. Each month, the TracfoneReviewer blog collects new codes and posts them on our site. We hope you find these codes helpful, and be sure to check out the rest of our Tracfone related content!

Tracfone coupon august 2016
New Tracfone Codes for August 2016
The month of August bring warm weather and new Tracfone Promo Codes! These promotional codes from Tracfone can be used to get extra airtime for free when you add an airtime card.

You don't have to do anything for these codes, they are free to use. Simply enter the code while entering your airtime PIN on your phone, over the phone, or on the Tracfone website.

Tracfone provides these codes as a way to give incentives to their customers and you can use a code every time you add airtime to get free minutes.

Please note, these codes do not work on any smartphones, which includes both the smartphones available through Tracfone, and those on Tracfone BYOP.

But smartphones do offer a lot of advantages, and Tracfone has been releasing a number of new Android smartphones for their customers. We just published reviews for the LG Rebel, a budget friendly smartphone with good features, and the LG Stylo 2, and slightly more expensive device that comes with a large, 5.7" touchscreen.

You can catch up on the news about new Tracfone devices by reading our posts New LG/Samsung Smartphones from Tracfone and New Alcatel/ZTE Smartphones from Tracfone.

Enough about phones, let's get to the codes. These codes are just the latest promo codes for Tracfone that are valid and working for the month of August 2016. We have a much larger list, with many more codes, on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Tracfone Promo Code List - August 2016

Be aware that some codes may only be used once, while others can be used multiple times.

60 Minute Card use code 12745 to get 60 bonus minutes (this code may only work for some)

120 Minute Card enter 61475 for 30 free minutes

200 Minute Card add code 35118 and receive 40 extra airtime

450 Minute Card use 89077 and get 50 bonus minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter code 87256 for 300 free minutes

Bonus: Get $15 off the 1 Year/400 Minute card with code 89497 (only on the Tracfone website)

These are the latest codes, free to use and share. Please pass them along to your friends and family. We've noticed some sites hide or even sell these promo codes, so make sure everyone you know is aware they are free!

Keep up with the latest news and info about Tracfone by following us on Facebook! We share a variety of Tracfone information, and are available to help answer questions along with our more than 2000 followers.

If you are considering a Tracfone smartphone, take a look at our recent post on the Changes to Smartphones Only Airtime Cards. These changes only affect smartphone cards, but we share some analysis on which cards are the best deal.

You can also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page for our full list of Tracfone cell phone reviews including both smartphones and non-smartphones.

Thanks for visiting!

July 29, 2016

Tracfone LG Rebel L44 VL Review

Review of the LG Rebel L44 VL from Tracfone

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog about Tracfone Wireless cell phones. If you're new, take a look around, as we share lots of tips, news and reviews relating to Tracfone. Below is our review of the LG Rebel, a newly available phone to Tracfone prepaid customers.

LG rebel review
Tracfone LG Rebel L44VL Review
Tracfone's LG Rebel is a versatile but basic smartphone recently released on the Tracfone website and through many other retailers. It comes with a 4.5" screen, quad-core processor, and 8 GB internal memory, among other features.

There has been quite a flood of new smartphones from Tracfone over the summer of 2016, and the LG Rebel comes in at one of the more budget friendly options. We recently reviewed the LG Stylo 2, which has a large, 5.7" screen, but is about twice the price of the Rebel. You can learn more about the new phones coming to Tracfone by reading our posts, New LG/Samsung Devices coming to Tracfone, New Alcatel/ZTE Devices coming to Tracfone, and New Apple iPhones Coming to Tracfone.

Let's get back to the Rebel, and look at our quick facts for this Android smartphone:

Tracfone LG Rebel Quick Facts

The Good:
-Android 5.1
-Reasonable price - $79 most places
-Quad-Core Processor

Not So Good:
-Only ~4GB Internal Storage
-Smaller Screen - 4.5"
-Retailing for $100 on Tracfone website - which is similar price to the slightly better LG Treasure

The Rebel is very similar to the LG Treasure, in fact, the non-Tracfone versions are called the LG K4 (Rebel) and LG K7 (Treasure). The Treasure is the step up from the Rebel, and has a few improvements, which we will go into more detail about a little later.

LG is one of the worlds top ten mobile phone makers, along with a large number of other manufacturing operations, such as TV's, appliances and much more. They are a South Korean company that operates globally and has phones ranging from budget to high-end and everything in-between.

The LG Rebel is a newer phone, released in early 2016, with Android 5.1 and aiming to be a budget friendly smartphone.

Let's see the full list of features that come with this phone.

LG Rebel Features and Specs

Below are the features, followed by the technical specifications for the Rebel
  • Android 5.1.1 Lollipop
  • 4G LTE Capable using CDMA Networks (Verizon)
  • 5 MP Rear Camera (with LED flash and Autofocus), 2 MP Front
  • WiFi, Bluetooth 4.1
  • Alarm Clock
  • MP3 Player
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play
  • GPS
  • Voicemail, Voice dialing, Caler ID
  • Handsfree Speaker
  • Two Homscreens
LG Rebel Specs:
  • Size: 5.20" x 2.62" x 0.36"
  • 4.5" Touchscreen at 480x854 resolution (218 DPI)
  • 1.1 Ghz Quad-Core Processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory (about 4 GB usable), MicroSD Card Slot (up to 32GB)
  • Battery: 1940 mAh with 9 Hours Talk Time, 11 Days Standby
The LG Rebel (L44VL) is the CDMA version of the phone, and will use Verizon's 4G LTE network through Tracfone. There is also the GSM version, known as the L43AL, which will use AT&T towers and have the same features and specifications. What might be confusing for some is that Walmart is already selling both versions, but calling them both the Rebel. We expect Tracfone has a different name for the L43AL version, but do not know what it will be yet. Just be aware which version you need, and if you want the GSM version, Walmart already has that available for purchase.

Now for our review of the LG Rebel, where we share our pro's and con's for this device.

Tracfone LG Rebel Review and User Manual

What we Like
As with our review of the LG Treasure, there is a lot to like about the LG Rebel as it is a low-cost smartphone with very reasonable features and performance. We also like that it is widely available, with both CDMA and GSM versions.

The Rebel has a Qualcomm Snapdragon™ 1.1 GHz Quad-Core processor which is very responsive and quick. It also has a 5 MP rear camera which includes LED flash and autofocus plus HD video recording. The front camera is 2 MP and good for video chatting and selfies, although the quality isn't quite as good as the LG Treasure.

lg rebel review
LG Rebel Review - Front, Side and Back
This smartphone comes with Android 5.1.1 which is a newer version of the OS, but not the newest. With Tracfone smartphones, you aren't able to update the operating system for various reasons, so it is good to periodically upgrade your phone to one with a newer OS to avoid vulnerabilities older operating systems may have. So if you're using an older smartphone with Android 4.1 or 4.3, you might consider upgrading to the Rebel just for the newer OS, although you will probably also see a nice performance increase as well.

We like the overall appearance and performance of the Rebel. LG is well known for making dependable smartphones, and the Rebel is no exception. Be aware that this phone is a budget smartphone, so it probably won't keep up with the demands of someone who uses their phone often, but for low to moderate users, this is a good option.

Before conclude, we do want to give some drawbacks about this phone we think consumers should know before buying.

What we Don't Like
First on our list of dislikes is the low RAM and internal memory. This is something almost all of Tracfone's more budget friendly devices are plagued with, and we hope that better options will be available soon. For most users, 1 GB RAM is fine, but if you run multiple apps at once, you may see some lag or slow down. And with only 8 GB internal memory (about 3-4 GB usable) you will have to be mindful about what you put on the phone. The Rebel does have a Micro SD slot, so you can add up to 32 GB external space to the phone.

The screen size on the Rebel is 4.5", which is the same as the LG Ultimate 2, but a little on the small side for average smartphones these days. Some prefer a smaller screen, but if you have trouble typing on the virtual QWERTY keyboard, or want more space for reading or viewing pictures/video, consider going with a phone that has a larger screen. The LG Stylo has a 5.7" screen, which makes typing on the virtual keyboard much easier.

Finally, the cost of the LG Rebel on the Tracfone website is a little high, especially when you compare it to the LG Treasure available from HSN. The Treasure comes with a bundle of airtime worth $100, and retails for $129 (we have seen it at $99). The Rebel is $99 on the Tracfone website, although other retailers have it for less.

If you think you may want a screen larger than 4.5", then you should consider the Treasure or other devices, but if you like the 4.5" screen, the Rebel is a good phone.

Get even more details about the LG Rebel by taking a look at the User Manual or the Interactive Tutorial.

Should You Upgrade to the LG Rebel?

Many of our readers have already been asking if the Rebel is a good phone to upgrade to from older Tracfone smartphone devices. The answer depends on how much you use your phone, and your personal preferences.

For those who have older devices like the LG Ultimate 2, LG Optimus Fuel, or even the LG Optimus Dynamic 2, the Rebel might make a good phone to upgrade to as it will run faster and more smoothly, and also use the newer, Android 5.1.1 OS.

Those who like to use their phone often, or want a larger screen, consider some of the other phone options available from Tracfone, or even look into Tracfone BYOP.

Where to Buy the Tracfone LG Rebel

The LG Rebel is already available form a number of retailers. It generally goes for $79, although the Tracfone website has it for $99.

LG Rebel (CDMA) from Target
LG Rebel (CDMA) from BestBuy
LG Rebel (CDMA) from Walmart
LG Rebel (GSM) from Walmart

The Rebel is also available on QVC.com bundled with airtime, which can be a great value.

We expect it to be available in most of these retail stores as well. Let us know if you find any better deals on it.

There are plenty of options for Rebel Cases and Covers on Amazon. If you're looking for a case, remember that the LG Rebel is the same as the LG K4, so you can search for that as well.

Overall, the Rebel is a good but basic smartphone that will be best for low-moderate users. It may also be good for first time smartphone buyers.

We hope you found this review useful in learning about the LG Rebel form Tracfone. Leave a comment below with your thoughts, questions or any corrections.

Here are some additional helpful resources we have created for Tracfone Android users:
How to Check your Airtime on Tracfone Android Phones
How Minutes Work on Tracfone Smartphones
How to Buy Only Texts for your Smartphone
Are Data Cards a Good Deal from Tracfone?
Analysis of the New Smartphone Only Airtime Cards from Tracfone (UPDATED)

Also check us out on Facebook, where we have an active community of Tracfone users and share news, tips and answer questions!

Thanks for visiting!