September 22, 2016

Tracfone LG Smartphone Comparison - LG Rebel vs Treasure vs Premier vs Stylo 2

Tracfone LG Android Phones Compared - Rebel, Treasure, Premier and Stylo 2

This post was created by TracfoneReviewer to give a side by side comparison of several new Tracfone LG smartphones. We share lots more Tracfone information here, so take a look around.

Tracfone has released a full line of new LG smartphones over the last few months. We've reviewed each of these phones, but also wanted to create a quick comparison to help highlight the various differences and similarities each of these phones share.

We often get questions asking whether phone 'a' is better than phone 'b' and it isn't always easy to give a straight answer. With this comparison of these LG smartphones we hope consumers will be able to see the key differences for themselves, and determine which phone is right for them.

Obviously there are a number of other great Tracfone smartphones also available, so don't limit yourself just to these phones. Take a look at our Cell Phone Reviews page for more.

The Treasure, Rebel, Premier and Stylo 2 are all from the same LG line (released by LG in early 2016), with a handful of differences. The Stylo 2 is the most expensive, but also has the largest screen and other features. The Rebel is the cheapest, and comes with the smallest screen.

Below is our comparison chart to show exactly how these phones differ.

best lg smartphones tracfone
Tracfone LG Phone Comparison - Click to Expand

There are a number of similarities as you can see, including RAM, internal memory, and Android OS version.

There are four main ways these LG phones differ:
-Screen Size
-Camera
-Network
-Price

Let's take a closer look at each of these differences.

Screen size is the most obvious, and ranges from 4.5 inches on the Rebel, to 5.7 inches for the Stylo 2. If you know what size screen you might prefer, it makes it easy to choose which one to buy. 5 to 5.3 inches is a good size for many people, as it balances between bulk and larger viewing surface. But some may prefer a much larger, or smaller screen size.

The front a rear cameras on these four LG phones also differ, with better front and rear cameras coming with the LG Premier and Stylo 2.

Network compatibility is an important difference to note as your area may only be compatible with one network. Note that the LG Rebel has two versions available, one with GSM compatibility and the other with CDMA compatibility.

Finally, the price also changes depending which device you choose. The Treasure and Premier are currently available for a similar price, but we expect the price to go up a little for the Premier.

Here are the links to our reviews for each of these LG smartphones so that you can take a closer look:
LG Rebel Review
LG Treasure Review
LG Premier Review
LG Stylo 2 Review

Now for those who may be considering upgrading from older LG smartphones we've added several popular LG phones to our comparison chart:

Tracfone LG smartphones
Tracfone LG Comparison Chart - Click to Expand

You can see the key specifications for the LG Ultimate 2, LG Lucky and LG Sunset above along with the other LG Smartphones. The Ultimate 2 has been discontinued by Tracfone (meaning they don't sell it anymore, but you can find it on Amazon and eBay) but the Lucky and Sunset are both still widely available.

We wouldn't recommend buying the LG Lucky or Ultimate 2 unless you understand the limitations. For the price, the Lucky is a great deal for an Android device. However, if you want to use this as a daily smartphone and run a variety of apps, you will probably be frustrated with the low memory and lack of performance. The Ultimate 2 was the best Tracfone device at the time it was released, but it has been available from Tracfone since 2014 and is somewhat outdated.

The LG Sunset actually compares pretty well with several of the newer LG phones like the Treasure and Rebel. If you've got the Sunset already, you may want to wait for something more advanced to be released before upgrading.

We hope this comparison helps for those considering the new LG smartphones Tracfone has recently released. Leave a comment below and share your thoughts or questions. (all comments are moderated before posting to keep out spam)

Join our Facebook page where we share the latest news, updates and deals. You can also post questions to our wall, or message us directly.

If you're ready to buy a smartphone, but unsure of the activation process, read our recent Guide to Activating Tracfone Smartphones and BYOP Devices where we include a step by step walk through, and helpful tips.

The iPhone 6 and 6 Plus are now Available for Tracfone and we've shared details on where to buy, prices and features. Follow the link to learn more.

4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime Balance on Smartphones is another recent post many of our readers find helpful.

Finally, take a look at our Comparison of Tracfone Smartphone Airtime cards to Regular Airtime Cards and see which is a better deal.

Thanks for visiting!

September 20, 2016

Tracfone iPhone 6 and 6 Plus Released

Apple iPhone 6 and 6 Plus for Tracfone Now Available

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer! Below you will find details about the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus available from Tracfone. Be sure to also check out the rest of our blog which features plenty of other helpful Tracfone related information.

Tracfone iphone 6 plus review
iPhone 6 and 6 Plus available for Tracfone
Two new Apple devices have been released by Tracfone as they continue to offer a wider selection of smartphones to use on their prepaid network.

The iPhone 6 and 6 Plus were first released in 2014, but have a number of great features that still makes them relevant today and desirable for many Tracfone users.

Two of the most popular features on the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus are the 8 MP rear camera which can capture slow motion video at 240 fps and the fingerprint sensor for securely locking and unlocking your device.

Tracfone also recently released the iPhone 5S, which also has an 8 MP camera, but no fingerprint sensor. It is available from Target for $199, and from the Tracfone website for $149, Visit our Tracfone iPhone 5S page for more details.

Tracfone users have already been able to use the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus with Tracfone by using the BYOP program. This is still a good option if you can find a deal on the phone, but Tracfone's prices for the 6 and 6 Plus are actually quite reasonable.

Tracfone has the iPhone 6 16GB version available in black or white, and the iPhone 6 Plus 16 GB version also available in black or white.

Let's take a closer look at some of the features and specs for these phones.

Tracfone iPhone 6 Features and Specs

The iPhone 6 key features and specs include:
  • 4.7" touchscreen at 1134x750 resolution
  • GPS, WiFi and Bluetooth 4.0
  • 16 GB Internal Memory
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 1.4 Ghz Dual Core processor
  • 8 MP Rear Camera with HD Video recording
  • 1.2 MP Front Camera
  • iOS 8 (upgradable to iOS 10)
  • Access to the Apple App Store
  • 1810 mAh battery with 14 hrs talk time, 10 days standby
  • Size: 5.44" x 2.64" x 0.27" 
A larger screen and improved camera are two of the upgrades the iPhone 6 has over the 5S. With the 6 you can record HD video at 240 fps for smooth slow motion shots.

16 GB internal memory is not a lot of space these days, but better than the majority of other Tracfone devices.

Let's look at the 6 Plus now.

Tracfone iPhone 6 Plus Features and Specs

The iPhone 6 Plus features and specs include:
tracfone iphone 6 plus
iPhone 6 Plus with sleek, curved edges and clean design
  • 5.5" touchscreen at 1920x1080 (HD) resolution
  • GPS, WiFi and Bluetooth 4.0
  • 16 GB Internal Memory
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 1.4 Ghz Dual Core processor
  • 8 MP Rear Camera with HD Video recording
  • 1.2 MP Front Camera
  • iOS 8 (upgradable to iOS 10)
  • Access to the Apple App Store
  • 2915 mAh battery with 24 hrs talk time, 16 days standby
  • Size: 6.22" x 3.06" x 0.28"
As you can tell, most of the features and specs on the 6 Plus are exactly the same as the 6. Some of the differences include the screen size and battery life. The 6 Plus comes with the same camera, internal memory, RAM and processor.

With each phone you also get Apple EarPods with mic and remote, Lightning to USB cable and USB power adapter.

If you like a larger screen on your smartphone like most people, the iPhone 6 Plus is well worth the money for the improved touchscreen. As a bonus, you also get longer battery life.

tracfone iphone 6
iPhone Size Comparison
A big draw for many is the camera on the iPhone. The quality is quite good and some of the features include phase detection autofocus, dual-LED flash and Optical Image Stabilization for the 6 Plus. If you're really curious about the image quality, take a look at GSMArena's Photo Quality Comparison for the iPhone 6 vs 5S vs Samsung Galaxy S6 (The Galaxy S6 is also available from Tracfone for just over $500 and has a 16MP camera, 32 GB memory and 3 GB RAM).

You can record 1080p HD video, or slow motion 240 fps at 720p. There are plenty of video samples on YouTube from the iPhone 6.

Overall both the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus are good devices with a lot of great features. While the specs are not very impressive compared to similarly priced Android phones, the performance is good with iOS.

Tracfone iPhone 6 and 6 Plus Price and Where to Buy

The iPhone 6 is available directly from the Tracfone website and is retailing for $399 which is actually quite a good deal as unlocked versions of the phone are selling on Amazon for about $500.

The 6 Plus is also available from the Tracfone website and is selling for $499, also a good price. Unlocked versions of these phone are available on Amazon for above $500.

To purchase these devices simply navigate to www.Tracfone.com and click 'shop for phones'. Follow the prompts to enter your ZIP Code to check your coverage and then you should see a list of available Tracfone devices. If you don't see the iPhone it may either be out of stock or unavailable in your area.

We believe the Tracfone iPhone 6 and 6 Plus will both use CDMA networks like the 5S, but have not been able to confirm this. We have also noticed that the iPhones will show up even in GSM areas, so perhaps two versions are available.

We will continue to update this as we gather more information. We expect Tracfone to also release the iPhone SE, iPhone 6S and iPhone 6S Plus sometime in the near future, but no news on exactly when. Visit our post on Apple iPhones coming to Tracfone to learn more.

We hope this information is helpful and please leave a comment with any thoughts or questions. You can also join us on Facebook and post questions to our wall, or message us directly.

If you're not sure about the Tracfone activation process, we created a Guide to Activating Tracfone Smrtphones or BYOP Devices.

Also have a look at our 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime Balance on Smartphones.

Thanks for visiting!

September 14, 2016

LG Premier (L 62VL) Review for Tracfone

Review of the Tracfone LG Premier (L62VL) LTE Smartphone

Welcome to TracfoneReivewer, a blog dedicated to sharing news, information and advice about Tracfone Wireless. If you're new, be sure to take a look around the site and see some of our other posts.

Tracfone l62vl premier review
Tracfone LG Premier Review
Tracfone has released another new LG smartphone for use on their prepaid network, giving consumers a wider selection to choose from. But the differences between the LG Premier and the other LG phones is somewhat small, making it tricky to know which new LG phone from Tracfone is best.

In this review of the LG Premier we will share the full specs and features, and also compare the Premier to the LG Rebel, LG Treasure, and LG Stylo 2, which are all currently available from Tracfone.

Take a look at our list of New Samsung and LG Phones coming to Tracfone to see the full lineup. There are also several different iPhone's coming to Tracfone as well. In fact, you can already get the Tracfone iPhone 5S from Target.

The Premier comes with a 5.3" touchscreen which is a nice size for most people. It also has Android 5.1 Lolipop and uses a quad-core processor.

Let's look at our quick list of pro's and con's for the Premier.

LG Premier Quick Facts:

The Good:
-5.3" touchscreen (1280x720 resolution)
-1.2 Ghz quad-core processor
- Full HD Video Recording

The Not So Good:
- 8 GB Internal Memory (about 4 GB usable)
- 1 GB RAM

The Premier has several great features, but, like most Tracfone smartphones, it struggles with both internal memory and RAM. The low internal memory simply means you can't store as many apps or photos on this phone, while the low RAM means you can't run too many programs at once. If these are big concerns for you, we suggest taking a look at the wide variety of smartphones you can use with Tracfone BYOP.

There are two versions of the LG Premier from Tracfone - the L62VL which we are writing about here, and the L61AL. They are both identical except for which network they use - GSM or CDMA. The 'VL' version uses Verizon LTE while the 'AL' version uses AT&T LTE (both through Tracfone prepaid service). Currently, only the VL version of the Premier is available.

The Premier fits into the Tracfone smartphone lineup as a mid-level device with a good screen but fairly mediocre other features. It is slightly better than the LG Rebel and Treasure, mostly because of the larger screen (but also an improvement in the camera megapixels) but not as good as the LG Stylo 2.

Let's see the full list of features and specifications for the LG Premier.

LG Premier L62VL Features and Specs List

Below are the phone's features, followed by the technical specs.
  • Android 5.1.1 lollipop
  • 4G LTE connectivity on CDMA networks (Verizon)
  • 8 MP Rear Camera, 5 MP Front Camera
  • WiFi and Bluetooth 4.1 capable
  • Access to over 1 Million apps on Google Play
  • MP3 Player
  • Alarm Clock
  • GPS
  • 2 Home Screens
  • Voicemail, Voice Dialing, Caller ID
  • Handsfree Speaker
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • 3.5mm Headphone connecting
  • Speaker phone
  • Text to speach
  • Proximity/Accelerometer Sensor
LG Premier Specs:
  • Size: 5.77" x 2.95" x 0.34"
  • 5.3" TFT Touchscreen with 1280x720 resolution
  • 1.2 Ghz Quad-Core Processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory (about 3 GB usable)
  • 2300 mAh Battery with 14 hrs talk time, 11 days standby
There are some good specs that come with the Premier, which we will look into more carefully a little further along. But you can also see certain limitations, especially in memory and RAM.

l62vl tracfone premier review
LG Premier for Tracfone
LG phones generally have a good reputation for both build quality and performance. Obviously the LG Premier, and other LG phones available from Tracfone, are budget smartphones, meaning certain corners had to be cut to keep the price low, but you still end up with a pretty good phone here.

LG is one of the largest electronics manufacturers, and has a substantial mobile phone lineup. They are based in South Korea, along with Samsung which is another popular cell phone manufacturer.

While certain Chinese manufacturers (like ZTE, Alcatel) are producing less expensive smartphones, LG and Samsung mobile devices usually have better longevity and value. We expect to see more and more budget friendly smartphones coming from both China and Korea that offer good value for the price as the cost of technology slowly drops.

Keep in mind that airtime works a little different on Tracfone smartphones. Prepaid airtime is split into three 'pools' of talk, text and data. When you add airtime, you get a certain amount of each. Regular Tracfone airtime cards will triple on Tracfone smartphones, but the new smartphone-only cards do not triple. Learn more about how this all works be reading our Comparison of Tracfone Airtime Cards and How they Work.

Let's get into our full review of the LG Premier and see some of the key pro's and con's for this device.

Tracfone LG Premier L62VL Review

What we Like
There are a lot of good features that come with the Premier including the screen size, processor, camera and Android operating system.

The 5.3" touchscreen is a comfortable size for many, making it easier to see, and easier to type on the virtual keyboard. It has HD resolution of 1280x720, with about 277 DPI which is quite good. This helps make the screen more detailed and vivid compared to the Rebel, which has less pixel density. The screen is plastic, like many budget LG phones, but it has a beveled edge that gives it a nice look and feel.

A Qualcomm Snapdragon 1.2 Ghz quad-core processor powers the Premier, helping make it quick and responsive. If it were paired with more RAM, it would be able to handle more multitasking.

Both the rear and front cameras on the LG Premier are actually pretty good with the rear camera even capable of full HD video recording at 1920x1080. We're very surprised at the camera and the number of features that comes with it, including:

LG Premier Camera Features:
  • Cheese shot - say 'cheese' to take a photo
  • Gesture shot -  use a hand gesture to snap a selfie
  • Burst shot - for capturing multiple images
  • Live shot - take photos while recording video
  • 4x Zoom (digital)
  • Rear Flash
  • Self timer
The LG Stylo 2 also shares the same front and rear cameras, while the LG Rebel and Treasure have smaller resolution cameras, but most of the same features.

Lastly, the LG Premier comes with Android 5.1.1 which is a newer version of the Android operating system. With Tracfone, you can't update the phone's OS (for various reasons) so getting a phone with a newer version of Android is generally a good idea. Older versions of Android have known vulnerabilities that can jeopardize the security of your phone. All the newer LG phones from Tracfone use Android 5.1.1.

That concludes are main likes for the LG Premier. We also want to share a few things about this phone we don't like and thing consumers should be aware of before buying

What we Don't Like
Basically there are two main dislikes about this phone - internal memory and RAM.

The RAM, which is 1 GB on the Premier, allows the phone to run multiple apps at once. The more RAM a phone has, the more things it can do at once before it starts slowing down, or even freezing up. It would be nice if the Premier came with 1.5 or 2 GB RAM. If you aren't running graphic intensive apps, or too many apps at once, you shouldn't notice too much of a problem with the RAM.

However, internal memory is where you store apps, music, pictures, and other data. The Premier comes with 8 GB, but only about 3 GB is actually available to use. This is enough for a handful of apps, but if you start to take a lot of photos, or add more and more apps, you will run out. You can add up to 32GB extra storage with a Micro SD card, but not everything can be transferred to the card. We hope to see more budget phones from Tracfone with at least 16 GB memory in the near future.

Checking your airtime balance isn't as easy to do on Tracfone smartphones, but we've created a guide with 4 ways to check your Tracfone Airtime Balance if you need some help learning how to do that.

Overall the LG Premier is a good budget smartphone with small improvements in screen size, processor and camera over the LG Rebel and Treasure, and a smaller screen compared to the LG Stylo 2. They all share a lot of the same features and specs.

To learn more about this device, check out Tracfone's interactive tutorial and the LG Specs List (PDF)

Where to Buy the LG Premier

The LG Premier is currently available through QVC.com where you also get it bundled with airtime and other accessories.

The phone occasionally goes on sale, but usually retails for $130 (including airtime). This is a pretty good deal, as the airtime, 1350 minutes plus 1 year service, usually retails for about $100.

We haven't found the Premier available anywhere else yet, but will update when we do.

This concludes our review of the LG Premier for use with Tracfone prepaid service. We will be comparing all of the new LG smartphones soon, so look for that in the near future.

A great way to keep with all our news, reviews and information is to follow us on Facebook where  we have a growing community of over 2000 and you can easily post questions to our wall, or message us directly.

Leave a comment below with any thoughts or questions about the Premier. We moderate all comments to help remove any spam.

Here are some additional resources we have created for those using or buying a Tracfone Smartphone:

Visit our Tracfone Smartphone Activation Guide if you would like some tips and advice on the activation process with Tracfone.

Our Cell Phone Reviews page page is a great place to start if you're searching for a new phone. it lists all of our cell phone reviews in one place.

We've also shared information on How to Buy Only Texts for your Smartphone and also How to Add More Data to your Tracfone Smartphone for those who tend to run low on these.

Thanks for visiting!

September 5, 2016

Tracfone Promo Codes for September 2016

Tracfone Promo Code List - September 2016

Every month TracfoneReviewer posts the latest promotional codes for Tracfone here on our blog. Below you will find just the promo codes for September 2016. For a larger list of codes, visit our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

tracfone coupon codes
Tracfone Promo Codes for September 2016
September is here, which means fall is around the corner, kids are back in school, and new promo codes for Tracfone are available!

Tracfone releases these promotional codes for consumers to use when adding airtime to their phone as an incentive and nice bonus.

These codes are for specific airtime cards, but an also be used with a card of greater value. (a code for a 60 minute card can be used with a 120 or 200 minute card for example.)

When adding airtime to your phone, simply choose the best code from our list below and enter it in the 'promo code' space (if you're using the Tracfone website). Promo codes don't always work, some may work only once, and they are sometimes geographically limited.

Also remember that promotional codes won't work on Tracfone smartphones or phones on the BYOP program.

If you are considering a smartphone, we just created a Guide to Activating or Transferring to a Tracfone Smartphone which you may find helpful. Also check out our Cell Phone Reviews page for our full list of reviews including both smartphones and non-smartphones.

Now, let's get to these new coupon codes!

Tracfone Promo Codes - September 2016

These codes are valid through the month of September, but may not work for every phone.

60 Minute Card use 12745 and get 60 bonus minutes (Note - this code is only working for some)

120 Minute Card add code 27868 for 20 additional minutes

200 Minute Card enter 27370 to get 40 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card use 42876 and receive 50 free minutes

1 year/400 Minute Card use code 78415 for an extra 250 airtime minutes!

These are the newest codes for each airtime card for Tracfone. Remember that Smartphones with Tracfone cannot accept promo codes. We hope you found a code that worked, let us know in the comments!

If you're wondering about the new smartphone cards Tracfone is now offering, take a look at our Comparison of New Smartphone Only Cards to Regular Airtime Cards - whats the best deal?

Thanks for visiting!

August 26, 2016

Guide to Activating or Switching to a Smartphone with Tracfone

Tips and Advice for Activating or Switching to a Tracfone Smartphone

We get a lot of questions from our readers here at TracfoneReviewer about switching to Tracfone smartphones, and as more and more people make that transition, we wanted to share the best advice and tips we've gathered from our experiences, and those of our readers.

tracfone smartphone activation
How to Activate a Tracfone Smartphone
If you're in one of the following situations, this how-to will be especially helpful for you:
-Switching from a Non-Smartphone to a Smartphone
-Switching from one Smartphone to Another
-Activating a New Smartphone
-Switching to a Tracfone BYOP device.

What we want to share is some information on how to start the transfer or activation process, and our best advice on making the transition as smooth as possible. A number of longtime Tracfone users are making the switch to Smartphones (partially because of the closing of 2G networks) and it can be very challenging and frustrating to try and figure out how to do it.

Let's start with the activation process.

Basic Process for Activating a Smartphone

Here are the basic steps we would recommend for activating a smartphone with Tracfone. Before we start, keep in mind these points about smartphones:

Remember that...
  • You cannon switch from a smartphone back to a regular phone
  • Airtime on smartphones is split into three pools - Talk/Text/Data
  • Smartphones come with Triple Minutes for Life, but won't accept promo codes
  • Smartphone-only airtime cards do not triple.
OK, now let's start the process.

Step 1 - Verify what coverage works best in your area

Verify and purchase a phone that will be compatible with your geographical area. Tracfone offers both GSM and CDMA coverage, but some areas only have one or the other. For their GSM coverage, they use AT&T cell towers and for their CDMA coverage they use Verizon towers. If you've already got a phone from Tracfone, check what comes at the end of the name. a 'G' at the end means GSM, a 'C' means CDMA (for example, the LG 306G uses GSM).

how to activate tracfone smartphone
Tracfone Activation Steps
For those planning to bring their own device, check that the phone you are purchasing is unlocked, and compatible with the network you plan to use. Some smartphones can actually be used with either network, like the new Moto G 4th Gen.

If you're shopping for phones, visit our Cell Phone Reviews page or our Tracfone BYOP page.

Step 2 - Gather Necessary Items

To activate a new Tracfone smartphone, you simply need the phone you wish to activate, and the red activation card which includes the serial number.

To activate a phone on Tracfone BYOP, you will need a Tracfone SIM card kit, the phone you wish to activate, and an airtime card (or credit card to buy airtime).

You can get the BYOP SIM card kit from Tracfone, or get it from Amazon or BestBuy for $1. Also available from other sources.

If you're transferring service, you should also have your old phone with you.

Step 3 - Start the Activation Process

You can either call Tracfone or use their website to start the activation process, but we recommend using the website.

Go to Tracfone.com and look for the orange button towards the top right of the screen that says "activate/reactivate/transfer" and choose this option.

Follow the prompts, choosing whether you are using a Tracfone Smartphone, or a BYOP device. Then continue to enter the information as prompted.

We've heard from many readers who have been able to activate their device in a matter of minutes. But things don't always go so smoothly, so continue on to the next step.

Step 4 - Check that Everything Works

Once you complete the activation process (which usually takes less than an hour, but may take up to 2 days), make your test calls, test texts, and check that your data works.

If something is not working, start by turning your device off and back on (for most devices this means hold the power button for several seconds until it powers down or asks if you want to turn it off), and then wait at least 48 hours after activating to see if it will start working.

If you still don't have an active device, it is time to contact Tracfone.

There are (at least) 6 Ways to Contact Tracfone:

  • Call Tracfone - 1 (800) 867-7183 (this is their customer service number, available 8AM-11:45PM EST 7 days a week)
  • Text Tracfone - Text 'HELP' to 611611 (we've never actually tried this, so don't know how well it will work)
  • Email Tracfone - This doesn't seem to be available at the moment
  • Use the Tracfone Forum
  • Use the Tracfone Facebook page
  • You can also chat via Facebook
Here is the contact page on the Tracfone website

For most, calling is the best way to get help, although other methods might work better for you depending on your situation. Be prepared to be patient and clearly explain your problem. Tracfone customer service is not the best, but I've always had my problems fixed eventually.

The majority of people have no issues and smoothly activate their new phone or transfer their number and minutes. But a small percent seem to run into issues, anything from Tracfone sending the wrong SIM, to ill-informed customer service. Based on years of comments and reports from our readers, these issues just sometimes happen, and you will need some patience and determination to work through it.

Leave a comment with your preferred method of communication, and any other feedback on contacting Tracfone in the comments below!

Additional Tips and Advice for Actuating a Tracfone Smartphone

Here are some extra tips and helpful information we hope will make for an easier activation process and answer some of your questions.
  • Double check your coverage area. One way to check what service you have in your area is to enter your zipcode on the Tracfone website when shopping for a phone. If only CDMA devices show up, you live in an area best suited to CDMA. But, that doesn't mean GSM won't work in that area. We've heard from several readers who reported using a different zipcode to activate their phone and the device still works in their home area.
  • Buying Tracfone smartphones from other retailers like Amazon, eBay, HSN, QVC and retail stores, can often be much cheaper than buying directly from the Tracfone website.
  • Most unlocked smartphones will work with Tracfone BYOP. Occasionally they don't, but with enough persistence they might. 
  • You can check your device's IMEI or ESN number on the Tracfone website to see if it is compatible, although they are occasionally wrong.
  • Get a BYOP SIM card kit from Amazon or BestBuy for $1. This includes all the SIM cards you will need (Nano, Micro and Regular) and a network activation code.
  • If you're having trouble with getting help from customer service, try escalating to Tracfone's Florida help center number: 1-800-876-5753. But if the lines are busy, you'll be directed back to regular customer service. 
  • Try to be clear and patient with customer service. They are not the easiest to understand, nor are they always correct, but they do try to sort things out. If you're not making progress, ask for a supervisor or hang up and call again.
  • Turning your smartphone off and back on will often solve problems. Doing a full reset may also solve issues if you can't find a different solution.
  • If you are transferring from one smartphone to another, you should be able to log into your Google account on the new phone and automatically load your apps, contacts, and other information.
  • If your Data or MMS is not working, you can try updating your settings here.
Over the last several years Tracfone has become much better at activating smartphones and BYOP devices. Those that tried activating smartphones when they were first released probably remember all the issues. But many problems have been fixed, the BYOP program has been expanded to almost any smartphone, and the activation process is generally fast and easy.

We hope these tips will help make your activation process easier, or give you the confidence to give it a try. Leave a comment with further questions, or any tips we missed! (FYI - comments are posted after they are moderated, as we get a lot of spam)

Join our Facebook page where you can post questions, and see the latest news and information about Tracfone.

If you're looking for a new phone, see some great Deals and Discounts we recently posted!

Also, take a look at our update to 4 Ways to Check your Airtime with Tracfone if you like to keep track of your minutes balance.

Thanks for visiting!