October 18, 2016

ZTE Citrine (Z717VL/Z716BL) Review - Tracfone Smartphone

Review of the  Tracfone ZTE Citrine Android Smartphone

This review of the ZTE Citrine is created by TracfoneReviewer. We have many more full reviews on our Cell Phone Reviews page.

zte citrine z717vl z716bl review
Full Review of ZTE Citrine

The ZTE Citrine is a small, inexpensive Android phone available from Tracfone for either CDMA or GSM networks that actually packs many similar features and specs found in larger, more expensive devices.

Is this phone the best smartphone from Tracfone for under $50? We will answer that, and share the full specs, features, and details about this phone. We will also give our review, and where to buy this phone at the best price.

Tracfone has been releasing a large number of budget smartphones during 2016 including many ZTE, LG and Samsung devices. You can catch up on what phones are coming out or already released by checking out our posts on New LG and Samsung Tracfone Smartphones and New ZTE, Alcatel and Huawei (Nexus 6P) Tracfone Smartphones.

With the Citrine, the main feature is the low cost, but there are some other good things about this phone. Let's take a look at our quick pro's and con's for the Citrine.

ZTE Citrine Quick Facts

The Good:
-Recent OS - Android 5.1.1
-Low cost - Available for $50, and even $30 some places
-Quad-Core Processor
-CDMA and GSM versions of the phone available

The not so Good
-Small Screen - 4"
-Low Internal Memory - 8 GB
-Low RAM - 1 GB

One of he key features on this phone is that it is very inexpensive, and yet comes with the relatively recent Android 5.1.1 OS which we see mostly on phones that cost twice as much or more.

Another great point to note is that there is a GSM version of this phone and a CDMA version. Just make sure you know which version works in your area (more about this below).

Of course the Citrine can't compete in performance, appearance, or functionality with devices like the Apple iPhone 6 Plus now available from Tracfone, or other high end devices, but it also doesn't have the $500 plus price tag.

Let's take a look at the full features and specs for this smartphone.

ZTE Citrine (Z717VL/716BL) Features and Specs

Below are the features for the smartphone, followed by the technical specs.
  • Android 5.1.1 OS (Lollipop)
  • Z717VL version is 4G LTE capable using Verizon network towers
  • Z716BL version is 4G HSPA+ capable using AT&T network towers
  • Wifi and Bluetooth
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play
  • Alarm Clock
  • MP3 Player
  • GPS
  • 3 Home Screens
  • Handsfree Speaker
  • Voice Dialing
  • Caller ID, Voicemail, SMS, MMS
  • Proximity and Accelerometer sensor
  • 3.5mm headphone connection
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
ZTE Citrine Specs
  • Size: 4.92" x 2.56" x 0.41"
  • Screen: 4.0" touchscreen with 800x480 resolution (TFT-LCD)
  • 1.1 Ghz Quad-core Processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon 210)
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory plus Micro SD Card slot (up to 32 GB)
  • 1650 mAh Battery with Talk Time 12 Hrs, Standby 10 days.
Many of these features and specs are very similar to Tracfone's other devices such as the LG Rebel or Samsung Galaxy Core Prime. However, the Citrine is available at a much lower price. The main difference in the Citrine from many of Tracfone's other recent smartphones is the smaller screen size.

If you notice the battery capacity, it is small, but this phone only has a 4" screen so it doesn't drain the battery as fast as phones with larger screens.

Let's get into our full review of the Citrine.

Tracfone ZTE Citrine Review

What we Like:
There's a lot of good features on this phone, specifically Android 5.1.1, 4G speeds, Quad-core processor and the low cost.

tracfone zte citrine review
Front, back and side of the ZTE Citrine - Note the textured back, and side charger port 
Android 5.1.1 is a fairly recent version of the operating system, and generally newer is better when it comes to Android. With each new version, any bugs or security risks are usually fixed, and new features are added. For various reasons, Android phones from Tracfone do not receive OS updates, so whatever version they come with is what they will stay with. Tracfone has just released two Samsung smartphones with Android 6.0, but most of their phones use 5.1.1 or older.

The Citrine comes with a Qualcomm Snapdragon 210 processor that has four cores, and runs at 1.1 Ghz. With this processor, the Citrine is capable of 4G LTE speeds, and has pretty good responsiveness. It is limited by the RAM, which we will mention more about further on. Basically, in a phone this cheap, it still has reasonably good performance.

Lastly, the price is what will likely draw most of the attention to this phone. It is listed most places for $50, but also available for $30 in a variety of locations, including online. $30 is a great price for this phone.

We also want to remind our readers that there are two versions of the Citrine, one with GSM capability, the other with CDMA capability. So it is available to all Tracfone users, but make sure you get the correct version for your service area.

What we Don't Like
There are some drawbacks about this phone that we want to share so that you can make your own informed decision about buying this device.

First of all, the Citrine has limited internal memory and only 1 GB RAM. Many of Tracfone's smartphones share the same limitations. While it has 8 GB internal memory, only about 2-3 GB is actually usable, depending on which pre-installed apps you keep/update. Because of the low amount of memory and RAM, you won't be able to load very many apps on this phone, and running multiple apps at once will cause the phone to slow down and possibly freeze. This phone is best for calling and texting, and a handful of basic apps like Instagram and Google Maps.

Here is some additional helpful information relating to the internal memory, from one of our readers, KRR:
        The total space I see is 8.00GB, System Memory takes up 4.69GB and after updating the variety of apps that are mandatory and adding in apps like The Weather Channel, Facebook Messenger, Instagram, Zedge, Google Photos, Tracfone and a couple smaller apps for work I am left with 1.75GB available.  Not too shabby all things considered.  The Facebook app is a storage hog, so I opted to uninstall it and just access Facebook from the Chrome browser and use Facebook Messenger (since Facebook is staunchly against us accessing our Facebook messages via a browser on a mobile device).  I do recommend going in and clearing the cache often (Storage>Used Space>Cached Data). 
The ZTE Citrine also has a small screen, just 4", which for some is a good thing, and for others a negative. If you're not sure what size screen you prefer, try visiting a Bestbuy, or other electronics store, and test different smartphones. For many, a screen size between 5" and 5.5" is preferred as it makes for easier viewing of videos, messages and everything else.

Camera quality isn't great either on the Citrine, which shouldn't be a surprise at this price point. The rear camera has 5 MP and is adequate for capturing moments as long as there is good light, but the front camera, with only 0.3 MP, will struggle in anything other than good lighting.

Finally, the quality of this ZTE phone is good, but nothing like a high-end smartphone. With most things in life, you get what you pay for, and the same is true for the Citrine. It does have a nice textured back, but it is made from plastic.

Some readers have experienced issues with the quality of ZTE phones, such as the ZTE Quartz, and ZTE Valet. If you experience issues, we suggest contacting the retailer you bought the phone from, or contacting Tracfone. We have not heard any complaints about the quality of the Citrine, but will update as more information becomes available.

Now that we've covered our pro's and con's for the CItrine, we want to answer the question, is this the best phone from Tracfone for under $50? Well, probably. A lot depends on what you're looking for in a phone, and if you're looking to use a variety of apps, you will likely be better off with a more robust smartphone.

That concludes our review of the ZTE Citrine. We will share some additional information, and where to buy the phone.

ZTE Citrine Overview and Where to Buy

The Citrine is a very budget friendly smartphone that is best for those who want to use it for calling/texting and occasional web browsing, email and other basic apps. It will likely struggle at running any apps that are resource intensive, like certain newer games.

This phone is most similar to the LG Lucky, also available from Tracfone. However, the Citrine is an improvement over the lucky in almost every way, with better processor, more memory, better camera, larger screen and more.

You can find the ZTE Citrine available from many retailers including Walmart (GSM version, or here is the CDMA version), Target, Bestbuy, and more.

The Citrine can be found online from many of the same retailers, and also on the Tracfone website.

Some retailers have the phone listed for $50, while others have it discounted at $30, including the Tracfone website and Walmart.

You can take a look at the ZTE Citrine interactive tutorial for help using and navigating the phone.

We hope this review is helpful and let us know in the comments below if you have any further questions.

Be sure to visit our Guide to Activating or Transferring Service on a Tracfone Smartphone for some helpful tips and info.

If you're new to Tracfone smartphones, or just like to know how many minutes you have, visit our post on 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime Balance on a Smartphone

We recently compared several of the latest LG phones from Tracfone and shared the results. Take a look at our LG Smartphone Comparison, with the LG Rebel, Treasure, Premier and Stylo 2.

Join us on Facebook where we share our latest posts, and have a great group of followers who help answer questions.

Catch up on the latest new Smartphones plus great deals and discounts on Tracfone devices in our last post.

Thanks for visiting!

October 10, 2016

Tracfone New Phones, Deals and Discounts - October 2016

New Phones, Discounts and Deals on Tracfone Devices and Minutes - October 2016

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a website that shares news, reviews and other information about Tracfone. 

new tracfones 2016
Tracfone News, Sales and More!
We've got the latest roundup of deals and discounts on Tracfone smartphones for October 2016, plus details on several new phones now available for Tracfone.

We want to share with our readers both the latest news, and some of the top discounts or deals from around the web.

Buying a new phone can be a challenging process with many options and lots of pro's and con's for each phone. We want to help by sharing a handful of phones that are either currently discounted, a great deal, or newly available for Tracfone.

We will start by covering some of the new devices available, then some great deals on Tracfone smartphones, and finally some great BYOP phones to bring to Tracfone.

If you're new to Tracfone, start with our Beginners Guide to Tracfone. And if you're not confident in how the activation or transfer process works, we've created a Guide to Activating or Transferring Service with Tracfone.

Let's take a look at some new phones.

New Tracfone Smartphones - October 2016

Some of these new phones were actually released right at the end of September, but we want to include them anyway. We will add any new phones to this list as they are released.

Samsung Galaxy On5
This 5" touchscreen smartphone features a 5 MP rear camera (2 MP front), 8 GB memory and Android 6.0. Besides the fact that it runs Android 6,0, which is a very recent version of the OS, the Galaxy On5 doesn't really bring any inspiring features. It compares similarly to the LG Treasure or LG Premier.

It is priced reasonably however, with a minutes bundle on HSN for $149 (on sale for $109). The On5 is a 4G LTE device that uses GSM networks.

Samsung Galaxy Luna
The Luna is fairly similar to the On5, running the same Android 6.0 operating system. It also has a 5 MP camera, 1 GB RAM, 8 GB Memory and quad core processor. The screen size on the Luna is slightly smaller than the On5, at 4.5", which some of our readers prefer. The Luna uses CDMA networks and has 4G LTE capability.

You can find the Samsung Galaxy Luna on QVC with an airtime bundle (1200 minutes) for $121, now on sale for $99. The airtime alone is worth $100.

ZTE Max Duo
The ZTE Max Duo is the type of phone many Tracfone users have been hoping Tracfone would release for a long time. It features 16 GB internal memory, a 1.5 Ghz octa-core processor and 2 GB RAM. It also has a full HD, 6" touchscreen with Gorilla Glass for extra durability.

One of the interesting features on the Max Duo is the dual rear camera. It has two rear facing cameras, one is a 13 MP camera, the other a 2 MP camera. Plus a 5 MP front facing camera.

There are a lot of great things packed into this phone, and it is currently available through HSN with minutes bundle for $249 (on sale for $199). Expect to see more information about this phone from us in the near future.

ZTE Cymbal
The first Android smartphone that is a flip phone. If you just can't give up the flip phone, this might be the upgrade you're looking for. It runs Android 5.1.1, has a 5 MP camera and WiFi. This phone is CDMA and has 4G LTE capability.

Right now we've only found it on BestBuy for $70, and no info on how it performs, but look for more in the near future.

We also want to mention the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus which Tracfone released in September. You can learn more, and see full specs and prices, by visiting our Tracfone iPhone 6 and 6 Plus post.

Tracfone Deals and Discounts - October 2016

Now we want to share some great deals or discounts on Tracfone devices from around the web. If you find other deals, or better deals, be sure to share them in the comments below!

Moto E - $20 on Amazon
The Moto E was first released several years ago, but it still can work as a basic smartphone, running a handful of apps, and useful for checking email or weather. It comes with a 4.3" touchscreen, Android 4.4 and 5 MP camera. See more about the Moto E including specs and features.

LG Lucky/Sunrise - $50 with 200 Minute Airtime Card ($40 value) on eBay or $15 on Amazon
Another low-cost smartphone option, the Lucky also runs Android 4.4 and has a 3.8" screen. As with the Moto E, it isn't a very powerful device, but good for basic smartphone functions, and, of course, calling and texting. With this bundle on eBay, you get the LG Lucky and a 200 Minute Airtime card, which is worth $40. At the price, it makes a great backup phone, or device for kids. The LG Lucky uses CDMA networks while the Sunrise uses GSM. Learn more about the Lucky in our Full Review.

LG 306G - $13 on Amazon
We like to include a non-smartphone option for those who are not interested in upgrading to an Android device. With non-smartphones, you get to keep all your airtime in one 'pool' and Tracfone Promo Codes will work on your device. However, non-smartphones are generally very limited in their features, and are best for simple calling and texting and usually not much more than that.

The LG 306G has a 3.2" touchscreen, and uses a java based operating system. It is a popular Tracfone device, although many users end up getting tired of the lack of features, and upgrade to a smartphone. Get full specs and more information in our full review of the LG 306G.

If you would rather have a flip phone, there are two options on Amazon that are currently $15 each. The LG 237C and the LG 441G are basic flip phones from Tracfone that use 3G networks. These are good for daily use, or as a backup. They don't do much beyond calling and texting, but have a long battery life and great durability.

That concludes the deals we've found on Tracfone devices, let's look at some great BYOP options.

Great Deals on Tracfone BYOP Compatible Unlocked Smartphones

Using the Tracfone BYOP program opens up many more options for phones, and many great value devices. Below we will share some of our top picks for unlocked smartphones to use with Tracfone.

BLU R1 HD - $109 on Amazon
At just $109 for 2 GB RAM and 16 GB Internal Memory, there are few phones that can compete with the value the R1 HD offers. Many Tracfone smartphones retail for over $100 and only have half the RAM and memory. The BLU R1 HD has received good reviews for being a budget smartphone, and if you're looking to get the most bang for your buck at the $100 range, this might be the best option (unless you go with a refurbished phone).

Moto G4 - $199 on Amazon
The Moto G4 is the latest in a line of popular budget smartphones from Motorola. At a very reasonable price point, it packs a lot of features and value into the $199 price tag. Many see the Moto G4 as the best budget smartphone available. It has a large, 5.5" touchscreen, 13 MP Camera, Octa Core processor, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB Memory. For an extra $30 you can get 32 GB memory.$199 for the features and performance this phone offers is a good deal, and it is compatible with both GSM and CDMA cell networks, making it easy to bring to Tracfone BYOP.

Moto G4 Plus - $299 on Amazon
For those looking for more, the Moto G4 Plus delivers, with more RAM and Memory. The G4 Plus has 4 GB RAM, and 64 GB internal memory (there is also a version with 2 GB RAM and 16 GB memory for $249), features we rarely see on a phone at this price. The extra RAM (compared to the 2 GB on the G4) means that the G4 Plus can handle more operations at once, it can run more apps, or more demanding apps, without slowing down. The G4 Plus also has  a 16 MP camera and fingerprint reader.

Honor 5X - $199 on Amazon
The Huawei Honor 5X is another budget friendly smartphone packed with great features. This phone has many similar features to the Moto G4, such as a 5.5" touchscreen, 2 GB RAM, 16 GB memory and 13 MP camera. But it also has two additional features - a finger print scanner and all aluminum body. The Honor 5X is certainly a worthy phone to consider along with the Moto G4.

Learn more about the BYOP program, and see a full list of many more smartphone options, on our Tracfone BYOP page.

That concludes our roundup of new phones, great deals and discounts, and popular BYOP devices for October 2016. We hope this information is useful, especially if you're considering buying a new phone. Leave a comment with your thoughts or questions below.

Also Follow us on Facebook (where many of you already do!). We share the latest posts, news and answer questions.

Our recent post, 4 Ways to check your Airtime on a Tracfone Smartphone may be very helpful for those who like to keep track of their minutes.

We also did a full Tracfone Airtime Comparison to see which airtime cards from Tracfone were the best value.

Thanks for visiting!

(all comments are moderated for a short time before being posted - thank you for your understanding)

October 3, 2016

Tracfone Promo Codes for October 2016

Tracfone Promo Code List - October 2016

Below are the latest promo codes for Tracfone for October 2016. Each month TracfoneReviewer collects and shares these codes for our readers to freely use and share. Be sure to take a look at some of our other Tracfone related content including reviews and other information here on the blog.

tracfone coupon code
Tracfone Promo Codes below!
Winter is coming, but to help hold off the cold we've got hot new promo codes for Tracfone!

Tracfone provides these codes for their customers to use and get bonus minutes whenever they add an airtime card. Promo codes are for use with a specific card, but can also be used with cards of greater value.

Promo codes do not work on Android phones. There has been some confusion about this, but from the first smartphone Tracfone released, they haven't allowed promo codes to be added. But, all smartphones come with Triple MInutes for Life (for regular airtime cards) and are a pretty good deal.

Below you will find just the latest promo codes for Tracfone that are valid for October. But we also have a much more comprehensive collection of codes on our main Tracfone Promo Code page so take a look if you want more codes to try.

If you're considering buying a new phone, check out our Cell Phone Reviews page where we list all of our reviews of Tracfone devices. You can also take a look at the details about the Tracfone iPhone 6 and 6 Plus now available.

Let's get to the codes:

Tracfone Promo Codes - October 2016

Below are the codes, remember, some codes can only be used once/ Also, these codes won't work on for smartphones.

60 Minute Card use promo code 12745 for 60 bonus minutes (may only work for some)

120 Minute Card enter 90166 to get 20 free minutes or 24412 for 30 minutes

200 Minute Card add code 27171 or 36120 and receive 40 extra airtime

450 Minute Card (no new codes, try 36120 or 27171 for 40 bonus minutes)

1 Year/400 Minute Card use 66994 for 250 free minutes

These are the latest promo codes to use with Tracfone when adding a new airtime card. We hope these codes worked for you! Share your results in the comments below.

We recently created a Guide to Activating or Switching to a Tracfone Smartphone/BYOP device and we also shared 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Balance on a Smartphone. These might be helpful if you're considering a new smartphone from Tracfone.

If you've got questions, or just want to keep up with the latest news and information, join over 2000 others who Follow us on Facebook. We share the latest posts, and various deals or updates from time to time.

Finally, we also created a comparison of the latest LG smartphones available from Tracfone to help our readers decide which device is best for them.

We've got lots more information and reviews coming soon, including a guide to buying non-smartphone devices from Tracfone, so stay tuned!

Thanks for visiting!

September 22, 2016

Tracfone LG Smartphone Comparison - LG Rebel vs Treasure vs Premier vs Stylo 2

Tracfone LG Android Phones Compared - Rebel, Treasure, Premier and Stylo 2

This post was created by TracfoneReviewer to give a side by side comparison of several new Tracfone LG smartphones. We share lots more Tracfone information here, so take a look around.

Tracfone has released a full line of new LG smartphones over the last few months. We've reviewed each of these phones, but also wanted to create a quick comparison to help highlight the various differences and similarities each of these phones share.

We often get questions asking whether phone 'a' is better than phone 'b' and it isn't always easy to give a straight answer. With this comparison of these LG smartphones we hope consumers will be able to see the key differences for themselves, and determine which phone is right for them.

Obviously there are a number of other great Tracfone smartphones also available, so don't limit yourself just to these phones. Take a look at our Cell Phone Reviews page for more.

The Treasure, Rebel, Premier and Stylo 2 are all from the same LG line (released by LG in early 2016), with a handful of differences. The Stylo 2 is the most expensive, but also has the largest screen and other features. The Rebel is the cheapest, and comes with the smallest screen.

Below is our comparison chart to show exactly how these phones differ.

best lg smartphones tracfone
Tracfone LG Phone Comparison - Click to Expand

There are a number of similarities as you can see, including RAM, internal memory, and Android OS version.

There are four main ways these LG phones differ:
-Screen Size

Let's take a closer look at each of these differences.

Screen size is the most obvious, and ranges from 4.5 inches on the Rebel, to 5.7 inches for the Stylo 2. If you know what size screen you might prefer, it makes it easy to choose which one to buy. 5 to 5.3 inches is a good size for many people, as it balances between bulk and larger viewing surface. But some may prefer a much larger, or smaller screen size.

The front a rear cameras on these four LG phones also differ, with better front and rear cameras coming with the LG Premier and Stylo 2.

Network compatibility is an important difference to note as your area may only be compatible with one network. Note that the LG Rebel has two versions available, one with GSM compatibility and the other with CDMA compatibility.

Finally, the price also changes depending which device you choose. The Treasure and Premier are currently available for a similar price, but we expect the price to go up a little for the Premier.

Here are the links to our reviews for each of these LG smartphones so that you can take a closer look:
LG Rebel Review
LG Treasure Review
LG Premier Review
LG Stylo 2 Review

Now for those who may be considering upgrading from older LG smartphones we've added several popular LG phones to our comparison chart:

Tracfone LG smartphones
Tracfone LG Comparison Chart - Click to Expand

You can see the key specifications for the LG Ultimate 2, LG Lucky and LG Sunset above along with the other LG Smartphones. The Ultimate 2 has been discontinued by Tracfone (meaning they don't sell it anymore, but you can find it on Amazon and eBay) but the Lucky and Sunset are both still widely available.

We wouldn't recommend buying the LG Lucky or Ultimate 2 unless you understand the limitations. For the price, the Lucky is a great deal for an Android device. However, if you want to use this as a daily smartphone and run a variety of apps, you will probably be frustrated with the low memory and lack of performance. The Ultimate 2 was the best Tracfone device at the time it was released, but it has been available from Tracfone since 2014 and is somewhat outdated.

The LG Sunset actually compares pretty well with several of the newer LG phones like the Treasure and Rebel. If you've got the Sunset already, you may want to wait for something more advanced to be released before upgrading.

We hope this comparison helps for those considering the new LG smartphones Tracfone has recently released. Leave a comment below and share your thoughts or questions. (all comments are moderated before posting to keep out spam)

Join our Facebook page where we share the latest news, updates and deals. You can also post questions to our wall, or message us directly.

If you're ready to buy a smartphone, but unsure of the activation process, read our recent Guide to Activating Tracfone Smartphones and BYOP Devices where we include a step by step walk through, and helpful tips.

The iPhone 6 and 6 Plus are now Available for Tracfone and we've shared details on where to buy, prices and features. Follow the link to learn more.

4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime Balance on Smartphones is another recent post many of our readers find helpful.

Finally, take a look at our Comparison of Tracfone Smartphone Airtime cards to Regular Airtime Cards and see which is a better deal.

Thanks for visiting!

September 20, 2016

Tracfone iPhone 6 and 6 Plus Released

Apple iPhone 6 and 6 Plus for Tracfone Now Available

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer! Below you will find details about the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus available from Tracfone. Be sure to also check out the rest of our blog which features plenty of other helpful Tracfone related information.

Tracfone iphone 6 plus review
iPhone 6 and 6 Plus available for Tracfone
Two new Apple devices have been released by Tracfone as they continue to offer a wider selection of smartphones to use on their prepaid network.

The iPhone 6 and 6 Plus were first released in 2014, but have a number of great features that still makes them relevant today and desirable for many Tracfone users.

Two of the most popular features on the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus are the 8 MP rear camera which can capture slow motion video at 240 fps and the fingerprint sensor for securely locking and unlocking your device.

Tracfone also recently released the iPhone 5S, which also has an 8 MP camera, but no fingerprint sensor. It is available from Target for $199, and from the Tracfone website for $149, Visit our Tracfone iPhone 5S page for more details.

Tracfone users have already been able to use the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus with Tracfone by using the BYOP program. This is still a good option if you can find a deal on the phone, but Tracfone's prices for the 6 and 6 Plus are actually quite reasonable.

Tracfone has the iPhone 6 16GB version available in black or white, and the iPhone 6 Plus 16 GB version also available in black or white.

Let's take a closer look at some of the features and specs for these phones.

Tracfone iPhone 6 Features and Specs

The iPhone 6 key features and specs include:
  • 4.7" touchscreen at 1134x750 resolution
  • GPS, WiFi and Bluetooth 4.0
  • 16 GB Internal Memory
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 1.4 Ghz Dual Core processor
  • 8 MP Rear Camera with HD Video recording
  • 1.2 MP Front Camera
  • iOS 8 (upgradable to iOS 10)
  • Access to the Apple App Store
  • 1810 mAh battery with 14 hrs talk time, 10 days standby
  • Size: 5.44" x 2.64" x 0.27" 
A larger screen and improved camera are two of the upgrades the iPhone 6 has over the 5S. With the 6 you can record HD video at 240 fps for smooth slow motion shots.

16 GB internal memory is not a lot of space these days, but better than the majority of other Tracfone devices.

Let's look at the 6 Plus now.

Tracfone iPhone 6 Plus Features and Specs

The iPhone 6 Plus features and specs include:
tracfone iphone 6 plus
iPhone 6 Plus with sleek, curved edges and clean design
  • 5.5" touchscreen at 1920x1080 (HD) resolution
  • GPS, WiFi and Bluetooth 4.0
  • 16 GB Internal Memory
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 1.4 Ghz Dual Core processor
  • 8 MP Rear Camera with HD Video recording
  • 1.2 MP Front Camera
  • iOS 8 (upgradable to iOS 10)
  • Access to the Apple App Store
  • 2915 mAh battery with 24 hrs talk time, 16 days standby
  • Size: 6.22" x 3.06" x 0.28"
As you can tell, most of the features and specs on the 6 Plus are exactly the same as the 6. Some of the differences include the screen size and battery life. The 6 Plus comes with the same camera, internal memory, RAM and processor.

With each phone you also get Apple EarPods with mic and remote, Lightning to USB cable and USB power adapter.

If you like a larger screen on your smartphone like most people, the iPhone 6 Plus is well worth the money for the improved touchscreen. As a bonus, you also get longer battery life.

tracfone iphone 6
iPhone Size Comparison
A big draw for many is the camera on the iPhone. The quality is quite good and some of the features include phase detection autofocus, dual-LED flash and Optical Image Stabilization for the 6 Plus. If you're really curious about the image quality, take a look at GSMArena's Photo Quality Comparison for the iPhone 6 vs 5S vs Samsung Galaxy S6 (The Galaxy S6 is also available from Tracfone for just over $500 and has a 16MP camera, 32 GB memory and 3 GB RAM).

You can record 1080p HD video, or slow motion 240 fps at 720p. There are plenty of video samples on YouTube from the iPhone 6.

Overall both the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus are good devices with a lot of great features. While the specs are not very impressive compared to similarly priced Android phones, the performance is good with iOS.

Tracfone iPhone 6 and 6 Plus Price and Where to Buy

The iPhone 6 is available directly from the Tracfone website and is retailing for $399 which is actually quite a good deal as unlocked versions of the phone are selling on Amazon for about $500.

The 6 Plus is also available from the Tracfone website and is selling for $499, also a good price. Unlocked versions of these phone are available on Amazon for above $500.

To purchase these devices simply navigate to www.Tracfone.com and click 'shop for phones'. Follow the prompts to enter your ZIP Code to check your coverage and then you should see a list of available Tracfone devices. If you don't see the iPhone it may either be out of stock or unavailable in your area.

We believe the Tracfone iPhone 6 and 6 Plus will both use CDMA networks like the 5S, but have not been able to confirm this. We have also noticed that the iPhones will show up even in GSM areas, so perhaps two versions are available.

We will continue to update this as we gather more information. We expect Tracfone to also release the iPhone SE, iPhone 6S and iPhone 6S Plus sometime in the near future, but no news on exactly when. Visit our post on Apple iPhones coming to Tracfone to learn more.

We hope this information is helpful and please leave a comment with any thoughts or questions. You can also join us on Facebook and post questions to our wall, or message us directly.

If you're not sure about the Tracfone activation process, we created a Guide to Activating Tracfone Smrtphones or BYOP Devices.

Also have a look at our 4 Ways to Check your Tracfone Airtime Balance on Smartphones.

Thanks for visiting!