December 2, 2016

Tracfone Promo Codes for December 2016

Tracfone Promo Code List - December 2016

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog with the latest Tracfone Promo Codes plus much more about Tracfone prepaid cell phones. If you're new, be sure to take a moment a see what else we have to offer including cell phone reviews and lots of other information.

tracfone coupon code
December Tracfone Promo Codes
December is usually time of celebrating holidays with families and friends, and getting reconnected. So what could be better then some free Tracfone minutes to go with it!

Each month we gather and share the latest promo codes to use with Tracfone prepaid devices to get additional minutes for free. You can get form 20 to 250 free minutes, depending on which promo code you use.

Promo codes are used when adding a Tracfone airtime card, and each promo code is for a specific airtime card (and can also be used with cards of greater value). For example, a promo code for a 60 minute card, will also work on the 120, 200, and 450 minute airtime cards.

Promo codes are not supposed to work on Tracfone Android smartphones, or unlocked devices on the BYOP program, however, sometimes they do, so it may be worth trying. It appears that smartphone users are getting bonus talk minutes, but no additional text or data airtime.

Tracfone offers a wide variety of phones to use with their prepaid service, and we've created reviews for many of them on our Cell Phone Reviews page, so take a look if you're looking for a new phone (or just want to see what's new). We just finished our review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna.

We also just created a guide to the Best Unlocked Smartphones to use with Tracfone BYOP. If you want some ideas on which phones you can bring to Tracfone (that won't break the bank either) check out that post.

Now, let's get tot he promo codes for December.

Tracfone Promo Codes for December 2016

We also have more codes on our main Tracfone Promo Code page. Below are the latest codes tested for December.

60 Minute Card use code 12745 for 60 extra minutes

120 Minute Card enter 33707 to get 30 bonus minutes

200 Minute Card add code 48567 and receive 40 free minutes

450 Minute Card use 59431 for 50 bonus minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter code 97276 and get 300 additional minutes for free

Bonus: $15 off purchase of 1 Year/400 Minute card with code 83453 (only at Tracfone.com)

That concludes our promo codes for December. We hope these codes work for you, and please leave a comment with which code you tried or any other questions you might have.

We also have a great community on Facebook where our readers can ask, and answer questions as well as get the latest news and updates.

if you're curious about which airtime card is the best deal, we did a full breakdown on Tracfone Airtime Cards including the newer smartphone only cards.

For those who might be new to Tracfone, visit our Beginners Guide to Tracfone and also our Guide to Activating or Transferring to a Tracfone Smartphone.

Thanks for visiting!

November 28, 2016

Samsung Galaxy Luna (S120VL) Review - Tracfone Smartphone

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Luna (S120VL) Review

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a website with news, reviews and lots of other information. If you're new, take a moment to check out some of the other Tracfone related content we share!

tracfone samsung galaxy luna
Samsung Galaxy Luna Review
The Samsung Galaxy Luna is a budget friendly smartphone released by Tracfone in late 2016 to use with their prepaid cell phone network.

The Luna features a 4.5" touchscreen, 8 GB internal memory, 1.5 GB RAM, 5 MP rear camera and runs on Android 6.0.1. It has 4G LTE capability and uses Verizon's CDMA network. In general, it has pretty standard features and specs for a Tracfone smartphone device, with a few improvements.

Tracfone continues to release a variety of smartphones, including the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus (as well as the iPhone 5S). The Samsung Galaxy S5, S6 and S7 have also been available through Tracfone for several months now and offer high-end performance at prices of over $500.

But they are still heavily focused on budget devices listed between $50-$200 because that is where the largest demand among Tracfone users exists.

Don't forget that you can also buy an unlocked smartphone, and bring it to Tracfone. We just created a list of the Best Unlocked Phones to use with Tracfone BYOP so take a look if you want some ideas. You can also visit our BYOP page for more information on how it works.

let's get back to the Luna, and look at the quick facts:

Samsung Galaxy Luna Quick Facts

The Good:
-Android 6.0.1
-Reasonable Price

The Not So Good:
-Only 8 GB Memory
-5 MP Rear Camera

One of the key features on the Luna, and the reason it may be a good phone to upgrade to for some Tracfone users, is that it comes with Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow. This is a very recent version of the Android operating system, and has some nice improvements over past versions which we will explain more about later.

The majority of Tracfone's low cost smartphone devices have only 8 GB internal memory and 1 GB RAM. This includes many of the recent phones we've reviewed like the ZTE Citrine, LG Rebel and LG Treasure. If you have used smartphones with limited memory and run into the problem of filling up your storage, you may want to consider a phone with more internal memory, such as the ZTE ZMAX 2 or unlocked phone options.

Lets take a look at the full list of features and specs for the Samsung Galaxy Luna, followed by our review.

Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Luna Features and Specs

Below are the features, followed by the technical specifications

  • Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow
  • 4G LTE Capable using Verizon CDMA Cell Network
  • WiFi
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.1
  • MP3 Player
  • Alarm Clock
  • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play Store
  • 5 MP Rear Camera and 2 MP Front Camera
  • Caller ID, Voicemail, SMS, MMS
  • Triple Minutes for Life (on regular airtime cards)

Samsung Galaxy Luna Specs

  • Size: 5.22" x 2.73" x 0.35"
  • 4.5" Touchscreen at 800x480 resolution
  • 1.2 Ghz Quad Core processor
  • 1.5 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Memory (with MicroSD slot for up to 128 GB additional memory)
  • Battery: 2050 mAh with 19hrs talk time, about 20 days standby

There are a couple of interesting features to notice about this phone. First of all, it appears to have 1.5 GB RAM with a 1.2 Ghz quad core processor which is a step up from many other low cost Tracfone smartphones and will allow it to multitask much better. The Luna also has a long standby time, which is due, in part, to the newer operating system.

The Samsung Galaxy Luna is one of several great Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals we've shared, so take a look so see where you can buy it at a discount, and some of the other phones available for super low prices.

Let's dive into our full review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna where we will share the key features on this phone that make it good, and any drawbacks that might exist.

Samsung Galaxy Luna Review

What we Like about the Luna
This is a phone that comes with a few small improvements over other recent smartphones released by Tracfone that actually might make a big deal for some users. We like that the Luna comes with 1.5 GB RAM, Android 6.0 and a reasonable price.

tracfone luna review
Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Luna Review

We would like to see more phones from Tracfone with 2 GB RAM, which allows the phone to run more applications at once, and generally means better performance. But this is a lot to ask for in a budget smartphone, and 1.5 GB is an improvement over 1 GB which is what almost every other recent smartphone from Tracfone offers.

The most notable feature on the Luna in our opinion is that it comes with Android 6.0.1. This version of Android was released in 2015, but only newer phones are using it. Most of Tracfone's other smartphones use Android 5.1 or older.

Android 6.0 brings several improvements, including a 'doze' feature which does a number of things to improve battery life (and leads to a much longer standby time compared to most other smartphones). Android 6.0 also allows greater external memory support, which were lacking in several of the previous Android versions. What this means is that the 8 GB of internal memory may not be so limiting, and users should be able to load apps, music, photos and other content onto the external MicroSD card (once the card has been set as 'internal memory').

Finally, the Luna is widely available for about $109 with an airtime bundle from HSN and QVC, or closer to $80 for just the phone from Target, BestBuy and other retailers. (Target offered the phone for closer to $40 on Black Friday)

The Samsung Galaxy Luna is a smaller phone, but packs some good performance and features for the price, and we would see this phone outperforming many older Tracfone smartphones.

We we Don't Like
What is key to remember about the Luna is that it is a budget smartphone, which means that certain corners are cut to keep the cost low. In the case of the Luna, it comes with a somewhat small screen, low resolution camera, and low internal storage.

Screen size on a smartphone is a matter of personal preference. Many smartphones now come with a screen size of 5.5 inches or more, which is great for viewing photos or videos, but may be bulky when trying to fit into a pocket or purse. The Luna has a 4.5" touchscreen which is a little smaller, but may be more convenient for some users. The screen appearance and resolution is good, but nothing fancy.

Samsung Galaxy Luna only comes with 8 GB memory, which for many, isn't enough if you plan to run a variety of apps, store music and photos, or keep other content. However, the Luna does support up to 128 GB external MicroSD card, which should allow users not to expand the internal memory, although we haven't fully tested this yet.

Finally, the front and rear cameras on the Luna are more of an afterthought. And while they do a reasonable job, they can't compete with most modern smartphones camera capabilities. If you only plan to use the camera for occasional photos in good lighting, then it should be fine. Otherwise, consider a phone with an improved camera.

That concludes the main drawbacks we noticed on the Samsung Galaxy Luna. It performs very well compared to many of Tracfone's other smartphones, but isn't going to keep up with smartphones like the Moto G4 or iPhone 5S (but they are twice the price).

Overview and Where to by the Samsung Galaxy Luna

The Luna is a small, but capable smartphone that is ideal for low to moderate smartphone users. But it has potential, with the ability to integrate the external storage, it could end up with the ability to store quite a lot via a MicroSD Card.

Compared to the LG Rebel, which also has a 4.5" touchscreen and retails for a similar price, we would choose the Samsung Galaxy Luna for the newer Android OS, more RAM and overall better value.

Compared to older smartphones like the LG Ultimate 2, LG Sunset, and Samsung Galaxy Stardust, we would also recce mend the Galaxy Luna simply because of the newer Operating System which has a number of performance and security updates.

The Samsung Galaxy Luna is available from several online retailers, and from retail stores like Target and WalMart.

Find the Samsung Galaxy Luna on eBay Bundled with airtime for $69
Find the Samsung Galaxy Luna on HSN bundled with airtime for $109
Find the Samsung Galaxy Luna at Target for $109
Find the Samusng Galaxy Luna at BestBuy for $109

There are also several Cases on Amazon available for the Luna.

View the Samsung Galalxy Luna Interactive Tutorial.

That concludes our review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna, we hope you have found it useful and let us know if we've missed anything, or if you have any questions.

If you're new to Tracfone, check out our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which provides details on how Tracfone prepaid service works, and some other helpful tips.

We've also created a Guide to Activating or Transferring service to a Tracfone Smartphone or BYOP device.

We will also be sharing details soon on the Samsung Galaxy Sky, a very similar phone with a 5" touchscreen also available through Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!

November 21, 2016

Best Unlocked Phones for Tracfone BYOP

Best Unlocked Smartphones for Tracfone Prepaid Service

Tracfone offers a growing selection of smartphones to use with their prepaid cell service, including Apple iPhones, high end smartphones (Samsung Galaxy S6, S7), and many budget smartphones. But consumers can also choose to purchase their own unlocked phone to bring to Tracfone's BYOP program.

best unlocked smartphones
List of Best Smartphones for Tracfone BYOP
But many consumers who want to buy their own phone, have certain questions.

What's the best phone to bring to Tracfone's BYOP (Bring Your Own Phone) program? Are there any phones besides the Smartphones from Tracfone that I can use with Tracfone prepaid service? What phone should I buy as a Christmas present for my family member or friend? These are all good questions, and we will help answer them, and more, in this list of the best unlocked smartphones that can be used with Tracfone prepaid service.

Tracfone's BYOP program allows consumers to find their own smartphone, and then activate it with Tracfone's prepaid service. It is a very convenient way to get to choose whatever phone you want, while keeping Tracfone's low cost service plans. But not everyone knows all the best options, so we are here to share our top picks for phones to bring to the BYOP program.

For specific details on the requirements for activating a phone with Tracfone, visit our Tracfone BYOP page (which also has a large list of phone options).

We are choosing these phones based on a variety of factors including popularity, value and cost. These are some of our best suggestions of phones we believe will fit most user's needs. In the end, each person needs to understand what they want out of a phone, and choose a phone according to that.

Most Tracfone users decide to use BYOP because they want a phone with a little more power and performance compared to most Tracfone smartphones, plus a wider selection of devices. In our list, we only include phones priced between $100-$400 as the majority of our readers are looking for a phone in that price range.

Now let's take a look at the list!

Top 6 Unlocked Smartphones to use with Tracfone (that are Reasonably Priced)

Below are the six best phones (and a few others) to use with Tracfone based on several factors. We hope this list will act as a guide and suggestion, and allow you to choose which phone best fits your needs.

1. Motorola Moto G4
The Moto G4 is the fourth generation of a well-rounded line of phones that come at a reasonable price and offer great value. The G4 has a large, 5.5" touchscreen, 13 MP Camera, 2 GB RAM and octa-core processor. You can choose between 16 GB or 32 GB memory and it starts at $199.

Best of all the Moto G4 is compatible with both CDMA and GSM networks, so you can choose to use it with either one (depending what works best in your area). We recently activated a Moto G4 Plus on GSM network without any issues.

If you want to save a little money, and don't need such a large screen, you can go with the Moto G4 Play, which has a 5" touchscreen, 8 MP camera and quad-core processor for just $150 (on sale for $130 in many places).

Another option is the slightly more impressive Moto G4 Plus, which has an improved 16 MP camera and fingerprint reader for $250. Spend an additional $50 and you also get 4 GB RAM and 64 GB memory (for a total of $300). The additional storage and RAM on the Moto G4 Plus make it a very powerful phone, more than capable of handling whatever is thrown at it.

Since the Moto G first came out, it has been a popular choice with Tracfone users and the Moto G4 continues that trend. The Moto G4 is widely available, and we expect a possible discount on Amazon for Black Friday so stay tuned.

View the Moto G4 on Amazon
View the Moto G4 on BestBuy
Also available through many other retailers including Costco, Walmart, Target and more. Expect Black Friday discounts

View the Moto G4 Play on Amazon
Also Available from BestBuy and other retailers, expect Black Friday discounts.

View the Moto G4 Plus on Amazon
Also Available from BestBuy and other retailers, expect Black Friday discounts.


2. Apple iPhone 5S and SE
One of the main reasons many Tracfone users started switching to the BYOP program was to use an Apple iPhone with Tracfone service. Recently Tracfone has also started offering several iPhones including the 5S, 6 and 6 Plus. But there is a much wider variety of unlocked iPhones, and some lower prices.

The iPhone 5S is several years old now, but that means it can be found for around $200 and still packs a very impressive camera along with other good features. If you're looking for some improvements, the iPhone SE has improved specs, and camera, at a price of just under $400.

Look for the iPhone SE and 5S in some retail stores, but also online through Amazon or eBay. Make sure you choose an unlocked version that is compatible with the service in your area.

View the iPhone 5S on Amazon
View a Refurbished iPhone 5S on Amazon

View the Refurbished iPhone SE on Amazon

3. Samsung Galaxy S5
With a 5.1" full HD touchscreen, 16 MP camera, 2 GB RAM and Quad-core processor, the Galaxy S5 packs a lot of performance despite the fact it was released a few years ago. It runs on Android 4.4, but is upgradable to 5.1, and even 6.0 in some cases.

When it was released in 2014, the Galaxy S5 was the flagship phone for Samsung, packing in the latest and greatest performance and features that make it relevant even today.

This phone can be found for around $200, and even less if you're willing to buy a refurbished model. That's a bargain for a phone that can shoot 4K video at 30fps, and much more.

View the Samsung Galaxy S5 on Amazon
View a Refurbished Samsung Galaxy S5 on Amazon

4. OnePlus 2
The OnePlus 2 was created to give consumers a high-end phone at a mid-range price. It features a 5.5" full HD touchscreen, 4 GB RAM, 64 GB Internal memory and a 64 bit Octa-core processor. The camera is also impressive, with 13 MP photos, and 4K video at 30 fps.

Aesthetics were also important on the OnePlus 2, which has a stainless steal frame. The phone comes with Android 5.1, but is upgradeable to Android 6.0 Marshmellow

The OnePlus 2 was released in August 2015, and there is a newer model, the OnePlus 3, with improved features and specs, but also at a much higher price.

View the OnePlus 2 on Amazon

5. Asus Zenfone 2
Another phone with a large, 5.5" full HD touchscreen, the Asus Zenfone 2 was very popular when it was released partially due to the great specifications like 32 GB memory, 4 GB RAM, 13 MP camera, and quad-core processor.

It is also upgradeable to Android 6.0 and was released in 2015. It is a worthwhile option, especially since the price is a little lower than many of the other phones on this list, at $175.

Find the Asus Zenfone 2 on Amazon

6. Huawei Honor 5x 
Looking for that sleek, high-end feel? Consider the Honor 5x which comes with an Aluminium shell for protection and appearance. Inside it houses a 5.5" touchscreen, 13 MP camera, 64 bit Octa-core processor, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB Memory.

Another great feature on the Honor 5x is the fingerprint sensor (also available on the Moto G4 Plus) which allows you to securely lock the phone, and quickly unlock it. All of this is available for under $200, making it another great option.

View the Huawei Honor 5x on Amazon

Several more phones that may be worth considering include:
-Alcatel Onetouch Idol 3 - 5.5" screen, 13 MP Camera, 16 GB Memory
-HTC Desire 626 - 16 GB Memory, 5" touchscreen, $129
-Google Nexus 5x - 32 GB Memory, 5.2" touchscreen, 12 MP Camera

That concludes our list of the the best budget friendly smartphones to use with Tracfone. We hope this list serves to provide some ideas of different phones available to use with Tracfone BYOP.

We want to hear from you! Share your current/favorite phone you use with Tracfone in the comments below!

Also join in on the discussion on our Facebook page where more than 2000 followers already get the latest news and information in their feed.

Black Friday deals are right around the corner, so check out our List of Tracfone Black Friday Deals which also includes some unlocked phone options.

Also take a look at our recent Review of the ZTE ZMAX 2 which comes with 16 GB memory and other great features.

And if you need some info on activating or switching your phone to Tracfone, read our full Guide to Activating or Transferring to a Tracfone Smartphone.

Thanks for visiting!

November 8, 2016

Tracfone Black Friday/Cyber Monday Deals 2016

Black Friday Cell Phone Deals for Tracfone and Unlocked Smartphones

Full list of Black Friday and Cyber Monday deals for 2016 on both Tracfone and unlocked smartphones you can bring to Tracfone. TracfoneReviewer will continue to update and add to this list as more deals become available!

cell phones black friday 2016
Tracfone Black Friday Sale 2016
Black Friday is the largest day for deals and discounts, and we are here to share all the best cell phone deals for Tracfone, as well as unlocked devices you can bring to Tracfone's BYOP program.

While not many of us like the crowds on Black Friday, we all do like getting a good deal, and for most of these deals, you can get them online so there is no need to get stuck in a crowd!

This Black Friday deals list includes both Tracfone cell phones that are on sale, and also phones that are unlocked, and can be used with Tracfone through their BYOP program. Tracfone allows consumers to bring their own phone, and more and more people are doing just that. Visit our Tracfone BYOP page to learn more about how this weeks, and what the requirements are for your phone.

We will be posting and updating the latest Black Friday ads and deals below throughout the month of November, and will also share Cyber Monday deals as we get closer to the end of the month.

If you're new to Tracfone, or a little confused about how it all works, our Beginners Guide to Tracfone is a great place to start and learn some of the basics. We have also created a Guide to Activating Smartphones with Tracfone if you're switching or activating a new phone.

We also just created a List of the Best Unlocked Smartphones to use with Tracfone BYOP so take a look if you're interested!

We can also use your help! Leave a comment with any deals you find that we missed and we will add it to the list, and be forever grateful!

Now let's take a look at these deals.

Tracfone Black Friday Deals List 2016

Below are all of the Black Friday deals for Tracfone. We will continue to add to this list and update it.

Tracfone - Visit Tracfone's Sale Page
Tracfone usually offers several phones at a discounted price for Black Friday and Cyber Monday.

Amazon - Visit Amazon's Black Friday and Cyber Monday Deals
Amazon always has some of the best discounts, especially on unlocked phones, and below are some of the special deals on both Tracfone devices and unlocked smartphones
-Daily deals - These change often, and consist of a wide variety of items
-Unlocked Phones
We expect the Moto G4 and/or Moto G4 Play to be on sale from Amazon during Black Friday and Cyber Monday
-Tracfone cell phones- No Tracfone Black Friday deals from Amazon

WalMart - Visit WalMart's Black Friday page
Offering several Straight Talk phones, but nothing for Tracfone at this time.

Target - Visit Target's Black Friday page
Offering the Samsung Galaxy Luna at around $50 (50% - 65% off)

Kmart - Visit Kmart's Black Friday page
Offering the LG Rebel for $20 ($60 off)

BestBuy - Visit BestBuy's Black Friday page
Offering the LG Rebel for $20 ($60 off)
Offering the Unlocked Alcatel Pop 4 Plus for $50 ($100 off)
Offering the Unlocked ZTE Axon 7 Mini for $200 ($100 off)
Offering $120 off an unlocked Samsung Galaxy S7

Newegg - View Newegg's Black November Deals page
Variety of unlocked smartphones on sale

Dollar General
No deals on Tracfone cell phones

eBay - Visit eBay's Black Friday page

HSN - Visit HSN's Tracfone page

QVC - Visit QVC's Tracfone page


That's our list of Black Friday and Cyber Monday deals for Tracfone. At this time, it doesn't have a whole lot of deals, but as we get closer to Black Friday we will add all the details. We hope these help you find the best deal on a new phone. If we've missed any deals, let us know in the comments.

We share a variety of information about Tracfone here on this blog, including Cell Phone Reviews, Tracfone Promo Codes and much more. Take a look around if you're new and see what else we have.

Join over 2000 others who Follow us on Facebook where we share the latest news, and are available to answer questions.

Thanks for visiting!

November 2, 2016

Tracfone Promo Codes for November 2016

Tracfone Promo Code List - November 2016

Below are the latest promo codes for November 2016. TracfoneReviewer strives to provide the most accurate codes, and be sure to check out some of the other valuable reviews and news we provide about Tracfone.

Tracfone coupon code
Tracfone Promo Codes for November!
Each month Tracfone releases new promotional codes to get additional minutes for free. We find, track and post these codes for our readers to use and enjoy for free. We never require you to do anything to view the codes

Tracfone uses promotional codes as an incentive for their customers. To get the free minutes, simply use a promo code when purchasing or adding an airtime card to your phone. In most cases, the bonus time is also automatically added.

Some codes may only be used once, or are not available in every geographical location. Promo codes are not supposed to work on Android smartphones, but we've been getting reports that they may in fact work in some cases.

Tracfone has continued to release more and more smartphones to use with their prepaid network. We recently reviewed the ZTE Citrine and ZTE ZMAX 2.

You can also visit our BYOP page for details on bringing an unlocked phone to Tracfone, or our Cell Phone Reviews page for all our reviews.

Remember, each promo code is for a certain airtime card, but can also be used on cards of greater value. So if you have a 200 minute card, the code for a 60 minute card will also work.

Now, let's get to these coupon codes!

Tracfone Promo Codes - November 2016

Below are the latest codes that are valid and working for November 2016.

60 Minute Airtime Card use code 12745 for 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Airtime Card enter 51574 to receive 20 free minutes (or try the code above)

200 Minute Airtime Card add 36796 or 30433 to get 40 additional minutes

450 Minute Airtime Card (no new codes - use any of the above codes)

1 Year/400 Minute Airtime Card use 12572 for 250 extra minutes

These are the promo codes for November. We hope you enjoy the free minutes! Remember, we also have many more code options on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

Don't miss out on the latest list of Deals, Discounts and Sales including great BYOP phones. We also included details on some new phones Tracfone released.

To stay up to date, follow us on Facebook where we share each new post, as well as other tips, news and deals.

Finally, see our comparison of Regular airtime cards to the New Smartphone only codes - Which one is a good deal?

Thanks for visiting, and leave a comment with which code you tried and how it worked!