January 16, 2017

Tracfone Deals and Sales on Cell Phones - January 2017

List of Discounts and Deals on Tracfone Cell Phones - January 2017

tracfone sale
Deals, Discounts and Sales on Tracfone
Tracfone offers a wide variety of phones to many different retailers, and finding a good deal on a certain phone can sometimes be a challenge, or even just finding the phone!

TracfoneReviewer is here to help with some great deals on phones and airtime from around the web. 

Included below are some of the more recent smartphones released by Tracfone with links to the best deals and airtime bundles for them. We also have included several other phones that are discounted, or a great value.

Be sure to also follow the links to our reviews of each phone, to learn more about what it offers. 

If you're looking for unlocked smartphones to use with BYOP, check out our recent list of the Best Unlocked Smartphones for Tracfone BYOP.

Let's take a look at the deals.

Tracfone Deals and Discounts - January 2017

These deals may go quickly, so act fast if you plan on getting the phone.

Samsung Galaxy Sky (J3)
The Galaxy Sky is an affordable smartphone with impressive features that was released at the end of 2016 and has 4G LTE on CDMA networks. 16 GB memory and Android 6.0 are both great features on this phone, among others:

Key Specs:
-5" touchscreen
-Android 6.0
-16 GB Memory
-Quad-core processor
-5 MP camera
See full specs and more in our Review of the Samsung Galaxy Sky

The Samsung Galaxy Sky is available with several airtime bundles form the following retailers:
HSN - $130 and includes 1350 minutes/1 Year service (best value)
Amazon - $130 and includes 120 minute airtime card
eBay - $130 an includes $25 smartphone airtime card


Samsung Galaxy Luna (J1)
Tracfone galaxy luna
Samsung Galaxy Luna
The Galaxy Luna was released at the same time as the Galaxy Sky, and has some of the same features. However, it has a smaller, 4.5" screen and 8 GB memory. The Galaxy Luna is 4G LTE capable on CDMA networks.

Key Specs
-4.5" Touchscreen
-Android 6.0
-8 GB Memory
-Quad core processor
-5 MP camera
View our Review of the Samsung Galaxy Luna for full specs and details

The Samsung Galaxy Luna is available with several airtime bundles form the following retailers:
Amazon - $99 and includes 120 minute airtime card
eBay - $99 and includes $25 smartphone airtime card
QVC - $121 and includes 1 Year/400 minute airtime card


LG Rebel
A basic but affordable smartphone, the Rebel has a 4.5" touchscreen and is 4G LTE capable. There are two versions of the phone, one for GSM the other for CDMA. Be sure to check which version you purchase, and that it will work in your area.

Key Specs
-4.5" Touchscreen
-Android 5.1
-5 MP Camera
-8 GB Memory 
-Quad core processor
See full details in our Review oft he LG Rebel

The LG Rebel is available with several airtime bundles form the following retailers:
Ebay - $60 and includes $25 smartphone airtime card
QVC - $92 and includes 1200 minutes


Samsung Galaxy Grand Prime
The Grand Prime has great features including a 5" touchscreen and 8 MP camera. It was released in 2016 but had limited availability, retailing through HSN. At this price, it is a great value and comes with a year of airtime.

Key Specs
-5" qHD Touchscreen
-Android 5.0
-8 MP Camera (5 MP front)
-8 GB Memory
-Quad Core Processor

The Samsung Galaxy Grand Prime is available with several airtime bundles form the following retailers:
HSN - $120 and includes 1350 minutes and 1 Year service

Tracfone Airtime
We wanted to include Several Tracfone airtime cards that can be purchased through eBay at retail price. We know this isn't a discount, but for some it may be easier than purchasing directly from Tracfone and you may be able to save on tax. Plus, if you want to give Tracfone airtime as a gift, this is a great way to get it.

See Tracfone Airtime Cards on eBay

That concludes our list of deals and discounts. The start of the year is often sort of quiet when it comes to sales, but we will update this if we discover additional deals.

If you find a great deal, share it below in the comments!

Catch up on what we expect from Tracfone in the coming year in our post, the Future of Tracfone in 2017

And see the latest Tracfone Promo Codes for January 2017 if you plan to add any airtime. These codes may work on smartphones too!

Join us on Facebook for all the latest news, posts and info.

Thanks for visiting!

January 9, 2017

The Future of Tracfone in 2017

What to Expect from Tracfone in 2017 and a Look Back at 2016

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, a blog all about Tracfone Wireless. We share news, reviews and lots of information so take a look around if you are new!

tracfone 2017
Future of Tracfone in 2017
A lot can happen in a year, and yet the time sometimes seems to go so quickly. Each year we share some of our expectations of what Tracfone will do, or should do in 2017, plus a review of the major advances in 2016. (you can see if we were accurate in our predictions for 2016 in last year's post)

Tracfone has been busy in 2016 and they have released a lot of new phones, and made some changes. We will start by quickly reviewing the key points from last year.

While this website (TracfoneReviewer) is not affiliated in any way with Tracfone Wireless, we are passionate about discovering and collecting the latest information and sharing it with our readers. And so based on that, we want to share some of our expectations of the future with you now.

Tracfone's Key Highlights from 2016

Here are the highlights of what occurred with Tracfone in 2016 in no particular order. Follow the links to learn more.
There were plenty of other interesting developments over the last year, but now we want to transition to what we expect from the coming year.

What to Expect from Tracfone in 2017

Tracfone continues to embrace releasing smartphones to use with their prepaid service, and allowing consumers to bring their own device to the BYOP program.

Budget Smartphones from Tracfone

We expect Tracfone to continue to release a wide variety of smartphones in the $100-$200 range. Phones in this price range usually compromise in certain areas, but still offer great value. Tracfone already released a few smartphones with 16 GB internal memory towards the end of 2016, and we expect this trend to continue.

With many of Tracfone's budget smartphones, users will likely notice the phone slowing down a little over time, and generally starting to not be able to keep up with the latest apps. This is to be expected since the phones don't usually have the latest internal specs, and the best solution is to upgrade your phone every couple of years. With some of the airtime bundles, you can get a new smartphone for just a few dollars above the cost of the airtime.

High End Apple and Android Smartphones

Tracfone released several high end smartphones in 2016 including the Samsung Galaxy S5, S6 and S7. They also released several Apple iPhones. We expect Tracfone to continue to offer certain high end phones such as the Nexus 6P, iPhone 7 and more. They do come at a high price, and for many, buying an unlocked device to use with the BYOP program is much more economical.

Tracfone BYOP Expansion

The 'Bring Your Own Phone' program has grown steadily from its rocky start a few years ago. There are still issues that exist, and plenty of our readers have faced various challenges when trying to activate a device, but overall, the process for activating a phone on the BYOP program has become much faster and smoother. Most unlocked CDMA or GSM phones are compatible, and even certain locked phones have worked. As always, try to check the ESN/IMEI of the phone with Tracfone before you buy, although this isn't always possible.

Better Customer Service

Tracfone is not known for their customer service, and if you have been a customer for very long, you know it can sometimes be very challenging getting problems fixed. However, Tracfone has been slowly making improvements to their customer service, and we expect them to continue to improve.

Already we have seen five Tracfone stores show up, where customers can come in and get help in person, and it would be nice to see more of these open up.

If someone from Tracfone happens to read this, then we also want to share a few things we want Tracfone to do in 2017.

What we Want from Tracfone in 2017

We want Tracfone to improve both their customer service and their budget smartphone options.

While we expect them to make improvements in both areas, we also want them to make improvements. Customer service is one of the biggest issues consumers have with Tracfone, and we want them to take it seriously and make changes that will make customers happy! One of the problems with their customer service is the outsourced telephone services which make it hard for many to understand.

With more and more inexpensive cell phone plans becoming available, consumers will choose the one that is easiest for them to use.

For budget smartphones, we want Tracfone to release options that feature up to 32 GB memory, 2 GB RAM and a reasonable camera. There are growing unlocked options available, such as the Moto G4 Play, and we hope Tracfone will secure phones along these lines and sell them for under $200.

That concludes our expectations for Tracfone in 2017. We hope you found this insightful about what might be coming in the near future.

Be sure to share your own expectations or what you want Tracfone to do/change in 2017 in the comments below.

Take a look at our List of Tracfone Promo Codes for January 2017 if you are adding airtime to your phone and want to get some extra minutes for free.

If you're new to Tracfone, our Beginners Guide is a great place to start.

Thanks for visiting and Happy New Year!

January 4, 2017

Tracfone Promo Codes for January 2017

Tracfone Promo Code List - January 2017

Welcome to TracfoneReviewer! We share lots of information and reviews about Tracfone Wireless, so if you are new to our site, take a minute to look around!

tracfone coupon codes
Tracfone Promo Codes January 2017
Happy New Year! Whether you're ready for 2017 or not, it has arrived and so have new promo codes for the month of January!

Each month we find and collect the latest promotional codes to use with Tracfone and share them here on our blog. These are just the latest codes for January 2017. We also have a list with more codes on our Tracfone Promo Code page.

Promo codes can be used to get as many as 250 extra minutes for free. They can only be used when adding an airtime card, and each promo code is for a certain airtime card (but they do work with cards of greater value).

These coupon codes aren't supposed to work with Android smartphones, but many of our users have reported success when adding airtime and a promo code to their phone, so it may be worth trying.

Tracfone offers a growing variety of Tracfone smartphones, and you can see our reviews of many of them on the Tracfone Cell Phone Reviews page. The last phone we reviewed is the Samsung Galaxy Sky which has 16 GB internal memory.

We also recently reviewed the Moto G4 and shared a quick guide to activating it with Tracfone BYOP.

Now, let's get to the list of codes.

Tracfone Promo Code List for January 2017

Some promo codes can only be used once, while others can be used multiple times. Use these codes when adding an airtime card to your phone on the Tracfone website, on your phone, or over the phone.

60 Minute Card use 12745 for 60 bonus minutes (working for some)

120 Minute Card (no new codes - use 12745 for 60 extra minutes)

200 Minute Card enter 95250 and get 40 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card use code 95176 for 50 free minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card add code 11647 to receive 250 extra minutes

$15 off purchase of 1 Year/400 Minute Card on Tracfone website with code 44854

These are the latest codes valid through January 2017 to use when adding airtime to your Tracfone prepaid device! We hope these codes work for you, and leave a comment with any thoughts or questions.

Join us on our Facebook page where we share the latest news and information, and have a helpful community who answer questions and give feedback.

We recently shared our list of Best Unlocked Smartphones to use with Tracfone BYOP so take a look if you're shopping for a new phone. Most of the phones on the list are around $200.

Also take a look at our Comparison of the LG Treasure, Rebel, Stylo 2 and Premier where we break down what each phone offers, and which is the best one to buy.

Thanks for visiting!

December 29, 2016

Moto G4 Review with Tracfone BYOP

Moto G4 Review and How to Activate with Tracfone BYOP

Below we share our review of the Unlocked Moto G4, and how you can use it with Tracfone BYOP. Here at TracfoneReviewer we share a variety of informational bout Tracfone Wireless. If you're new, be sure to take a loot at some of the other posts we have created.

tracfone moto g4 review
Moto G4 Review for Tracfone Prepaid
The Moto G4 is the 4th generation of a line of phones from Motorola that have been hugely successful for their combination of great features at a reasonable price.

The 4th iteration of the Moto G is no exception and brings a lineup of solid performance, reliability and long battery life for a starting price of $200.

Below we will share our review of the Moto G4 (and G4 Plus/G4 Play), and how it works with Tracfone BYOP and a brief guide to activating it.

There are several different versions of the Moto G4, each with a handful of differences, but mostly the same features. The three main versions are the Moto G4, Moto G4 Play, and Moto G4 Plus. The G4 Play is cheaper than the regular G4, but has a smaller screen and certain other changes. Likewise the Moto G4 Plus has some improvements over the G4, at a higher cost.

Let's take a look at the specs for each of these phones, starting with the mid-priced option, the Moto G4.

Moto G4 Features and Specs

These are the main features and specs. For a complete rundown, visit GSMArena.
moto g4 review
Moto G4
  • 4G LTE Compatible with Both GSM and CDMA networks
  • Android 6.0.1 with upgrade to Android 7.0 in near future
  • Screen: 5.5" IPS LCD with Full HD Resolution (1080x1920) and Gorilla Glass 3
  • Processor: Octa-core (Quad-core 1.5 Ghz and Quad-core 1.2 Ghz)
  • Memory: 16 or 32 GB (plus Micro SD Card Slot)
  • RAM: 2 GB
  • Camera: 13 MP Rear, 5 MP Front with 1080p recording
  • Battery: 3000 mAh removable
  • Price: 16 GB for $199 / 32 GB for $229
You also get all of the other typical features found on a smartphone like GPS, WiFI, FM Radio, MP3 Player, threaded SMS, email, and more.

There are three big features that stand out on the Moto G4 compared to Tracfone smartphones in this price range. The G4 has an Octa-core processor for great multitasking capability, 2 GB RAM to complement that, and a 13 MP Camera with plenty of features.

We recently reviewed the Samsung Galaxy Sky, which was released for closer to $120, but only has a quad-core processor, 1.5 GB RAM and 5 MP Camera.

Let's take a look at another version of the Moto G4 that is cheaper, and also a little smaller.

Moto G4 Play Features and Specs

These are the main features and specs. For a complete rundown, visit GSMArena.
    moto g4 play review
    Moto G4 Play
    • 4G LTE Compatible with Both GSM and CDMA networks
    • Android 6.0.1 with upgrade to Android 7.0 in near future
    • Screen: 5" IPS LCD with HD Resolution (720x1280)
    • Processor: Quad-core 1.2 Ghz
    • Memory: 16 GB (plus Micro SD Card Slot)
    • RAM: 2 GB
    • Camera: 8 MP Rear, 5 MP Front with 1080p recording
    • Battery: 2800 mAh removable
    • Price: $149 (sometimes as low as $129)
    As you can see, the Moto G4 has a smaller, 5" touchscreen, just a quad-core processor and only 8 MP rear camera. However, it still comes with 2 GB RAM, 16 GB memory and Android 6.0.1 (with upgrade to 7.0 coming soon).

    The Moto G4 Play is built more for the everyday causal users, but still has decent specs to handle most games or apps.

    For the real powerhouse of the Moto G4 lineup, let's look at the G4 Plus.

    Moto G4 Plus Features and Specs

    These are the main features and specs. For a complete rundown, visit GSMArena.
    moto g4 plus review
    Moto G4 Plus
    • 4G LTE Compatible with Both GSM and CDMA networks
    • Android 6.0.1 with upgrade to Android 7.0 in near future
    • Screen: 5.5" IPS LCD with Full HD Resolution (1080x1920) and Gorilla Glass 3
    • Processor: Octa-core (Quad-core 1.5 Ghz and Quad-core 1.2 Ghz)
    • Memory: 16 GB or 64 GB (plus Micro SD Card Slot)
    • RAM: 2 GB with 16 GB Version / 4 GB with 64 GB Version
    • Camera: 16 MP Rear, 5 MP Front with 1080p recording/720p slow motion
    • Battery: 3000 mAh non-removable
    • Price: 16 GB for $249 / 64 GB for $299
    The Moto G4 Plus also has a fingerprint reader for unlocking the device.

    If you're going to spend the extra money on the G4 Plus, you might as well get the 64 GB version because it also comes with 4 GB RAM. This pairs very nicely with the octa-core processor for more demanding apps or games. More RAM allows the phone to have more going on at once, so it will be less likely to freeze or slow down.

    The fingerprint sensor is surprisingly useful and convenient for quickly and securely unlocking the device. It does have trouble recognizing a fingerprint if it is wet.

    Review of the Moto G4 on Tracfone BYOP

    We will go into a little more depth on some of the features for the G4 and discuss the pro's and con's of the Moto G4, G4 Play and G4 Plus.

    tracfone moto g4
    Moto G4 Review

    The internal memory and RAM on the Moto G4 is very acceptable in a budget smartphone and the Octa-core processor allows the phone to keep up with most apps and games. For low to moderate smartphone users, 2 GB RAM and 16 GB memory is plenty. However, for users who will be taking a lot of photos or video, or want to load a lot of apps on the phone, 32 GB or even 64 GB will be a better choice.

    The fact that the G4 Play also comes with 2 GB RAM and 16 GB memory is a great deal. It doesn't have the same processor however, running just a quad-core 1.5 Ghz processor.

    There is some occasional lag and stuttering on the G4 (all versions), which likely is not from a lack of processing power, but more likely due to firmware issues that need to be cleaned up. The phone may see some improvements when upgraded to Android 7.0, and let's hope that includes the stuttering issues. It isn't a very common issue, and only appears occasionally in certain applications or when switching between windows.

    The 5.5" screen on the G4 and G4 Plus is full HD 1080x1920 resolution and looks great with good brightness and contrast levels. It also has Gorilla Glass 3 protection. The G4 Play has the smaller 5" screen with HD 720x1280 resolution and also looks quite good.

    When it comes to the camera, the Moto G4 Plus has a 16 MP rear camera with a larger sensor compared to the G4 at 13 MP, and better low light shooting plus laser auto focus. It is a very nice improvement, and renders nice, clear photos in good lighting conditions. While it is also better at low light versus the G4, the G4 Plus still doesn't take great low light photos (but few smartphones do).

    The 8 MP camera on the G4 Play can take good photos in good lighting conditions, but don't expect much more out of it. All three phones have a variety of different features like panorama, HDR and flash.

    All three versions of the G4 are capable of recording full HD video at 30 fps. Video quality is good, and the phone does have optical image stabilization to help smooth out your shots. Videos shot at night do have noticeable noise.

    Battery life on the Moto G4 is excellent, with the G4 Play providing the best battery performance of the three (due to the smaller processor and screen). These phones truly have 'all day' battery life and on many occasions we've noticed nearly 50% charge remaining after a full day with moderate use. Charging speed is also impressive, with all three devices charging very quickly.

    Finally, what makes the Moto G4 such a great device to pair with Tracfone BYOP is that you can use it with either CDMA or GSM service. Just choose the correct SIM card, and follow the activation process (which we will provide more details on further along).

    To Summarize the Main Pro's and Con's with the Moto G4:
    The Good:
    -Good combination of processor, RAM and Internal Memory
    -Large, Clear Touchscreen
    -Excellent Value
    -Compatible with both CDMA and GSM
    -Very Clean Android OS with Update to 7.0 Coming Soon

    The Bad:
    -Occasional stuttering/lag
    -No blinking notification light
    -Low Light Photo Quality is not Great

    Overall, our experience using the Moto G4 Plus with Tracfone BYOP has been nearly flawless. Data and picture messaging (MMS) have both worked without any issues.

    The phone itself is fast, powerful and has plenty of storage. The 5.5" screen is large, but easy to get used to and videos, games or photos look great on it. The single front speaker does a good job, and gets loud enough for most needs.

    The occasional stuttering is not very noticeable, but should be considered when purchasing this phone.

    Which Moto G4 Version is Right for You?

    Originally Motorola had three different 'budget' phones; the Moto E, Moto G and Moto X. They have now decided to just offer one phone, but with three variations.

    All three of the new variations on the Moto G are great value for the money, and they target different people who have different needs for a phone.

    Moto G4 screen size
    Moto G4 Screen Size vs Moto G4 Play and Moto G4 Plus

    The Moto G4 has great specs for the price, but may be limited on internal memory unless you choose the 32GB option.

    With the G4 Play you get a smaller and cheaper phone, but also sacrifice some performance and camera resolution.

    For the 64 GB Moto G4 Plus you get lots of memory and RAM, plus other great features, but the cost starts to get a little high for some, and there are a number of other good phones in this price range (each with certain pro's and con's).

    In the end, the right phone for you is one that you can afford, and will fit the demands you plan to put on the device. For many, the Moto G4 Play is more than adequate with nice snappy performance, and a convenient size.

    However, for just $50 more the regular G4 has a number of improvements that make it a good choice for moderate to heavy smartphone users. It has a better processor for running more apps, and an improved camera.

    We've seen all of the versions of the Moto G4 on sale for $20 or more below retail price, so it might be worthwhile to wait for a sale if you need to get the most bang for your buck.

    How to Activate the Moto G4 on Tracfoen BYOP

    The Moto G4 can be activated as either a CDMA or GSM device. We've tested it on Tracfone's GSM network with complete success. We have also received reports of successful activation on the CDMA network, although some users have run into issues.

    Here are the steps for activating the Moto G with Tracfone BYOP:
    1. Buy an Unlocked Moto G4, G4 Play or G4 Plus (see below for where to buy)
    2. Purchase a Tracfone SIM kit (available online and in many stores for $1)
    3. Choose whether you will activate with CDMA or GSM coverage, and use the matching Micro SIM card from the kit.
    4. Insert the SIM card into the phone by removing the back cover, taking out the existing SIM tray, and replacing it with the Micro SIM card.
    5. Visit the Tracfone website or call Tracfone to continue the activation process, which will include choosing if you want to activate a new phone number or transfer an existing number.
    6. Once activation is complete, test the functionality. Sometimes turning the phone off(by holding down the power button for 3 seconds) and back on is required before the phone recognizes the SIM.

    For additional activation information, and advice on what to do if you run into problems, visit our Tracfone Smartphone Activation Guide.

    If you already have a device on Tracfone's BYOP program, and it uses the same SIM card, you can actually just take it out of one device and put it in the other. We tested this going from a 1st generation Moto G to the Moto G4 Plus and everything worked after restarting the phone, including MMS and Data. We don't necessarily recommend this route, but, as of yet, we've experienced no issues.

    Where to Buy the Moto G4/ G4 Play/ G4 Plus

    The Moto G4 is available from several different major retailers including Walmart, BestBuy, Target, Amazon and others. Below are links for online retail options:

    Moto G4 - Available from Amazon (currently on sale for $179), Motorola, BestBuy

    Moto G4 Play - Available from Amazon, BestBuy

    Moto G4 Plus - Available from Amazon Motorola, BestBuy

    There are plenty of cases on covers available from both Amazon and eBay.

    That concludes our review of the Moto G4. We hope this information is helpful for those considering this phone as an option to use with Tracfone BYOP. There are also many other great smartphones to use, and we've even created a list of the Top 6 Smartphones to use with Tracfone BYOP.

    Leave a comment below with any questions or thoughts you want to share. All comments are moderated for a short period of time before posting.

    Also get involved on our Facebook Page where we share the latest news and information with our active community of over 2300.

    For more information on the BYOP program, visit our Tracfone BYOP page. And you can also take a look at some of Tracfone's smartphone options on our Cell Phone Reviews page.

    Thanks for visiting!

    December 13, 2016

    Samsung Galaxy Sky (S320VL) Review - Tracfone Android

    Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Sky (S320VL) Review

    Welcome to TracfoneReviewer, an independent website for news, reviews and other information about Tracfone. If you're new, be sure to take a look around at some of the other helpful information we have shared.

    tracfone samsung galaxy sky
    Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Sky Review
    The Samsung Galaxy Sky has a 5" touchscreen, quad-core processor with 1.5 GB RAM, and runs Android 6.0. It also has 16 GB internal memory, something very few smartphones from Tracfone have at this time.

    We recently reviewed the Samsung Galaxy Luna, which has a number of similarities to the Sky, although it differs in screen size and internal memory. We will look more closely at how these phones compare, and several others from Tracfone, further along in our review.

    Tracfone has released a number of new smartphones in 2016, and the Galaxy Sky, which was released in November, might be one of the best budget friendly options yet.

    Lets look at the quick facts for the Galaxy Sky to get an idea of what it offers.

    Samsung Galaxy Quick Facts
    The Good:
    -16 GB internal memory
    -Android 6.0
    -5" Super AMOLED HD touchscreen

    The Not so Good:
    -Only 5 MP camera

    A major complaint that consumers have had with Tracfone is their lack of smartphones with 16 GB internal memory or more. The majority of Tracfone smartphones only have 8 GB memory, which fills up fast even if you only load a handful of apps. The Galaxy Sky comes with 16 GB which can hold a lot more apps, photos and more.  The ZTE ZMAX 2 is another option that also has 16 GB internal memory.

    Of course, there are plenty of unlocked smartphones that have 16 GB internal memory or more. Take a look at our list of the Best Unlocked Smartphones to use with Tracfone BYOP for some ideas or go straight to our BYOP page.

    But there are some more great features on the Sky, so let's take a look at the full list of features and specs.

    Samsung Galaxy Sky Features and Specs

    Below are the features, followed by the technical specifications
    • Android 6.0 Marshmallow
    • 4G LTE Capable using CDMA network (Verizon)
    • WiFi, GPS
    • Bluetooth 4.1
    • Alarm Clock
    • MP3 Player
    • 5 MP Rear Camera, 2 MP Front Camera
    • Handsfree speaker
    • Access to over 1 Million Apps on Google Play Store
    • Proximity and Accelerometer Sensor
    • 3 Home Screens
    • MMS (Picture and group) messaging 
    • Caller ID, Voicemail
    • Triple Minutes for Life (on regular airtime cards)
    Samsung Galaxy Sky Specs
    • Size: 5.60" x 2.79" x 0.31"
    • 5.0" Super AMOLED Touchscreen 720x1280 resolution (HD)
    • 1.2 Ghz Quad Core Processor
    • 1.5 GB RAM
    • 16 GB Internal Memory (with MicroSD card slot for up to 128 GB external memory)
    • Battery: 2600 mAh with 25 Hrs Talk Time, 13 Days Standby

    The Galaxy Sky is a little larger than many of the older smartphones from Tracfone such as the LG Ultimate 2 or Samsung Galaxy Stardust, but at 5", it is still a convenient size that will fit in most pockets or purses. Notice that the screen is Super AMOLED, which means deeper blacks, and in some cases, better battery life.

    Let's take a closer look at some of the key features on the Galaxy Sky with our full review.

    Samsung Galaxy Sky Review

    Below we share what we like about the Sky, and what we don't like.

    What we Like about the Sky:
    There's a lot to like about this phone, but some of the key features that make it popular are the battery life, internal memory and Android OS.

    Tracfone samsung galaxy sky
    Samsung Galaxy Sky front, side and back. Notice the rounded edges and slim design.
    The battery life on the Samsung Galaxy Sky is very good compared to most other smartphones. The Sky doesn't have a large battery, but a combination of the screen, processor and operation system help conserve power to make it last all day with normal use, or nearly two weeks on standby. A longer battery life is something everyone can enjoy, whether you use your phone often or not.

    Android 6.0 comes with a number of improvements, fixes, and upgrades (including better battery performance). One of the improvement is better integration of external Micro SD cards, however, it doesn't appear that the Sky is able to fully integrate external storage as if it were internal storage. .

    Speaking of storage, the Galaxy Sky has 16 GB, with about 11 GB usable space. This is a great improvement over many of Tracfone's other smartphones.

    Additionally, the combination of 1.5 GB RAM with the quad-core processor is more than adequate for the phone to handle most activities and apps.

    We also want to mention the touchscreen, which has HD resolution and good colors. As we mentioned above, the 5" screen is a comfortable size for many and looks great, qith good colors and sharpness.

    The Samsung Galaxy Sky packs nearly everything we would want in a budget smartphone from Tracfone. But there are some negatives we want to mention.

    What we Don't Like:
    The main drawback with the Galaxy Sky is the front and rear camera. The rear camera is only 5 MP, while the front is 2 MP. The quality is reasonably good, but at such a low resolution, you will probably want something better to capture any important memories.

    It also appears that external Micro SD cards may not be integrated as internal memory the same way many other Android 6.0 devices are able to do. We're not sure why there is a difference with the Galaxy Sky, but will add additional information as it becomes known.

    Finally, the Samsung Galaxy Sky does come with a handful of apps most users won't want, but it is possible to remove some of them, or at least disable them. Most phones come with a variety of pre-installed apps, so this is not something specific to the Sky.

    That concludes the issues we've found with the Sky. It is a well rounded phone in most ways and ideal for moderate smartphone users upgrading from an older Tracfone smartphone.

    Samsung Galaxy Sky Overview and Where to Buy

    The Galaxy Sky brings some very popular features at a reasonable price to Tracfone users who have been waiting a long time. While the camera is a strong point, the phone does excel in many other ways, especially battery life, screen quality, and overall performance.

    Compared to the Samsung Galaxy Luna, the Sky is a little more expensive, but also has twice the internal memory, and a larger screen. They both have the same processor, RAM and cameras.

    The Samsung Galaxy Sky is a significant improvement over many older Tracfone smartphones like the LG Ultimate 2, Moto E and Samsung Galaxy Stardust for many reasons, but especially the 16 GB memory and Android 6.0 OS. They phone will be smoother and faster than older devices, as is to be expected.

    While we do expect Tracfone to continue to release smartphones with similar or improved features in 2017, the Samsung Galaxy Sky is a great phone, and, with some of the airtime bundles below, a great deal.

    For additional information on how to use the Galaxy Sky, take a look at the interactive tutorial.

    Tracfone samsung galaxy sky
    Samsung Galaxy Sky on Amazon
    The Samsung Galaxy Sky is available from several online retailers:

    HSN - Available with 1350 Minutes and accessories - $129
    eBay - Available with $25 airtime card - $129
    Amazon - Phone Only - $159

    Prices may change, and HSN will probably sell out sometime in the near future.

    That concludes our review of the Samsung Galaxy Sky. We are excited about the improvements this phone has over older smartphones. Let us know your thoughts or questions in the comments below.

    Get the latest news, updates and information by following us on Facebook.

    We've created the TOP 10 Tracfone Gift Ideas so take a look if you're looking for gifts for someone (or even yourself).

    Tracfone Smartphone Resources:
    How to Activate or Transfer a Tracfone smartphone
    How Data Works on Smartphones
    How to Buy Extra Texts for Smartphones
    Tracfone Airtime Comparison - Which Card is the Best Deal?

    Thanks for visiting!